Niagara Falls (American Side), Via The Discovery Pass

5/28/14 Wednesday in Lockport, NY (Niagara Lazy Lakes-ROD)

Today’s focus was to just enjoy our “Discovery Pass” attractions:

“Maid of the Mist” where it was hard to get great photos because we’d let others settle next to the sides of the boat. Still it was fun getting so close to the Falls. After that we could have walked to the “Crow’s Nest” but it was closed due to the lingering snow.

Maid 1 Maid 2 Maid 3 Maid 4 Maid 5 Maid 6 Maid 7 Maid 8 Maid 9 Maid 10

Then we went up from the boat launch in the elevator to the Observation deck.

Observation 1 Observation 2 Observation 3 Observation 4

“Niagara Legends of Adventure Theater”. This was well done but not a lot of new information. I wish they’d showed Nick Wallenda walking the tightrope across in 2012, but they didn’t. It may be because there was so much mist that day that no one could see him when he headed closer to the Falls.

Lunch time-this time we enjoyed our picnic at the tables outside the Visitor Center.

“Aquarium of Niagara”. Small but well done. They even have sea lion and feeding shows but we didn’t time our visit well for that. Some really different critters.  This is where you can park for free, then access the Niagara Falls St Park via a walking overpass to a trolley stop.

AQ 1 AQ 2 AQ 3This guy is an aquatic salamander – axolotl (ax-oh-lot-ul).  It remains in its larval phase throughout its life.  It grows much larger than a normal larval salamander yet retains its gills and fins and doesn’t develop eyes.  The Aztecs of Mexico called it the “water monster” because of its weird appearance.

AQ 4 AQ 5

We finished off our visit with a high note, “The Cave of The Winds”. I was thrilled just to see all the Black Ringed Gulls with their nests and babies. Cool. Then the water got pretty strong so, having already changed into their sandals and plastic ponchos, we covered the camera and pocketed our glasses. Wish I’d known to roll up my jeans. John was lucky since he had shorts on. So my pants bottoms got soaked, but was it ever FUN!!! I liked this experience of the thundering water, the waterfalls up really close, better than the Maid of the Mist time. Even though I couldn’t see very well, I could tell the white water from the rocks.

Cave 1 Cave 2 Cave 3

Time for home, straight home this time and NO thunder storm to strike us when we arrived. We even baked our chicken paprika dish. After dinner John watched taped shows while I worked on this blog. Tomorrow we go to the Canadian side.

 

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in New York and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

