Moving on – to Parish, NY

6/2/14 Monday in Parish, NY (Bass Lake-ROD)

After goodbys to Barb/Jerry and new neighbors Carol and John (they have a Newmar Ventana 36′-one that we’re interested in), we were on the road by 9:20 am. It should be a 4 hour drive because we’re taking SR 104 which passes through lots of towns (speed limits). We would rather that than drive more miles south to I-90 AND pay a toll. Scenic and good road. They call this “Upstate New York”.  I think that means the northern (near Lake Ontario? area. Lots of small farms , orchards and vineyards. Quite a few trees along the road when we weren’t passing through towns.

NY Farm

About halfway (Rochester) we stopped at a Lowe’s since they have large parking lots. I was all stressed at how John was going to drive out of the lot, but he did just fine, as he’d assured me. He’s such a good driver and so patient with my fears. SR 104 was 4 lane in the Rochester area. That was nice. Oswego was not easy to go through. Lots of lights, rough road, and even cars parked in the right lane of the road sometimes!

This day was really hot (high 90 degrees) so we were glad it was time to run the generator (monthly). Running it and giving it a load (air conditioners) gave us some relief from the heat as we went down the road. Other than the heat this was a smooth trip to Bass Lake (also known as East Coast Resorts of America). When we arrived the lady informed us that check in time was 2 pm, so we couldn’t go to our site (chosen by them) until that time. It was about 1:45 when she told us. We’d never run into that sort of firmness on the check in time! We found our site out in the open, so John got his satellite reception. It wasn’t as level as the one a Lazy Lakes, so one of our slides is not out (P/S). At least we have sewer here, with 30 amp service (strong) . SO we’re exchanging careful water usage (as in Lazy Lakes) to careful electricity usage because now we have high heat and the need to do a lot of laundry, both of which are high use amperage items.

This is a beautiful park, very well maintained. Flat. There are lots of trees surrounding us. Lovely pool and adult lodge. Cafe. Free WiFi at the adult lodge (we’re near it and the bathroom). They pick up your garbage from in front of your rig 2 times a day. You can have mail sent directly to the campground and they will bring it to your site.

Bass Lake

Of course we sweltered as we set up, then enclosed ourselves inside with the A/C on. When things had cooled down I turned off one A/C (only on 30 amps so can only use 2 high amp users) and turned on the washer/dryer. So the bedroom was really warm but my eyes started closing as I was reading so I succumbed to the call of a nap – in that hot bedroom (quiet) while John watched old TV shows.

2 hours later I woke up, we had dinner (hamburgers) and then watched TV. The rain came (dense with thunder and lightening) at 9 pm.

Naturally, I’d done a dumb thing. To cool the bedroom without using the A/C I’d opened a window and turned the Fantastic Fan on. Knowing the rain was coming I’d turned off the fan and closed the window just as I got the A/C in the bedroom going (wash load was finished). I intended to close that fan’s vent, but forgot in the blink of an eye. Thus the rain flowed in there. Only when we went to get ready for bed did we notice. Oh well, easily fixable.

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in New York. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

