St. Cecilia’s Church

6/8/14 Sunday in Diamond Point, NY (Schroon River Resort-ROD)

Because we were concerned about a parking space (St. Cecilia’s doesn’t have a parking lot and are on a downtown street), we arrived early. Wouldn’t you know, we parked right in front of the church!

St Cecilia 1

With our extra time we investigated around the church. They really don’t have any parking area, but they do have a lovely Labyrinth, to walk and meditate, in a wooded space. I was tempted to walk it, but wondered about mosquitoes and John simply was walking away. Up the street we discovered a book sale-in the yard of a local book seller. His house was filled with even more books! A treasure trove we couldn’t resist.

At the church we found that it’s quite unique. From their church bulletin: Our community was formed in Kitty Ryan’s parlor where we gathered around a small table for Eucharist whenever a priest was able to come to Warrensburg. In 1874, we officially became “St. Cecilia’s,” founded by … To this day, we continue to gather around the table, tell the stories, break bread, and share the cup in memory of Jesus Christ…”

In memory of that beginning they continue to celebrate Mass “in the round.” I didn’t get a photo but they handed out hand made fans, a hard paper circle on a paint stick, with these words on it: I am a fan of St. Cecilia’s.

St Cecilia 2

After Mass we dashed to the book sale, finding about 8 books for me and 25 Louis L’Amour books for John.

As we were leaving town traffic was crawling so John decided to take a side street and “see where it goes.” Okay, I’m just along for the ride. We got rather lost but eventually came under the Freeway (I-87) so we could then jump on entrance 24 and head over to exit 23. It still looked good to travel on but we were concerned seeing the equipment and a sign (turned away from the road) that said “Road Closed.” So when we got to the campground we asked about it. They say that they are still working on that (installing culverts) but only M-F from 7 am to 3 pm, so the school buses can use that road. Ah. Good to know. Since we’d really rather not travel the dirt road again (plus it’s more miles) and we have a long way to go, we’ll leave by 6:30 am. Two firsts: 300 mile trip and leaving so early.

By the way, today I realized that we are currently scheduled to leave here tomorrow (Monday), but there is lots more rain predicted than for Tuesday, so I called and extended our stay here through Tuesday.

At the rig we had lunch then spent time with our neighbors until they had to leave, then we enjoyed the peace and quiet reading outside, with the wonderful breezes and not so wonderful mosquitoes. There was even a moment when some horses strolled by.

Horse

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in New York and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to St. Cecilia’s Church

  1. Judy says:

    You’re buying books! Hooray for our side.
    And if you’ve never walked a labyrinth, I hope you do someday. You need the right circumstances — quiet, room (not many other people on it) and lots of time. I guess you know that the idea is to carry something (figuratively) into the center, surrender it there, and walk back out lightened.

  2. tjelser says:

    Thanks, Judy. I was definitely thinking this was an opportunity to support a local book store. In all the explanation they didn’t mention carrying something to the center and surrendering it. It all sounds wonderful but I can’t feel rushed and I did that Sunday. Someday..

    • Judy says:

      I hear you. A major downside of writing this book manuscript is that I often feel rushed. Granted, I get lots of naps, time in the gym, etc., But not much just to watch TV or read at random, etc. I sometimes feel I’m sinning against retirement. I think of all the people who are so eager to retire. Well, my third pearl of wisdom gained after 73 years is, “It will never be true that everything is okay.” I’m looking for just the right phrasing.

Leave a Reply

