Kennebunkport: St. Ann’s Episcopal Church and the Bush Compound, Kennebunk: The Wedding Cake House

6/18/14 Wednesday in Moody, ME (Moody Beach-TT/OW)

Easy morning, getting our computer work accomplished. After lunch we (including Susan/Bill) visited the Wells Farmer’s Market. Wonderful food there (even jam sweetened with honey) but we only bought some lettuce.

Wow, there sure were large and beautiful homes here. Kennebunkport was quite the interesting city as well.

homes 1 homes 2 homes 3 homes 4

Kennebunkport

kennebunkport 1 kennebunkport 2 kennebunkport 3 kennebunkport 4

Next to Kennebunkport at Walker’s Point where we visited St. Ann’s Episcopal Church which is apparently the Bush church from way back.

st anns 1 st anns 2 st anns 3 st anns 4 st anns 5

Then the Bush (H W Bush that is) compound, their summer home.  The neighbors across the water made a big sign for his birthday.  I even got a glimpse of Barbara Bush taking their dog for a walk (using her walker).  I felt a little like the paparazzi.

bush 1 bush 2 bush 3 bush 4

Our last stop (almost) was at the Wedding Cake House. So named I think because of its ornate architecture. Our Frommer’s book says “This gorgeous 19th century house…was built by a sea captain for his new bride because he went to sea without having a taste of his wedding cake.” It’s a private residence and Susan happened to be taking photos when the owner started to drive down his driveway. He had 6 Prince Charles Spaniels in his car so they got talking, Susan enjoying the sweet dogs.

wedding wedding 1 wedding 2 wedding 3

Our last stop was at a flag store where Susan looked for a bunting (red white and blue flag in a half circle) to put at the front of their RV. They didn’t have what she wanted in stock so she’ll call to see if it comes in later.

It was a pretty big day so we relaxed with our books, some TV and a leftover supper.

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in Maine and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

