Marginal Way

6/24/14 Tuesday in Moody, ME (Moody Beach-TT/OW)

We left about 8:45 am to get to Perkin’s Cove by 9 am, so we’d get a parking spot. No problem on a weekday. Knowing where the Marginal Way started from here we figured this time we’ll walk the whole way and see where the other end is.

Before we left Perkins Cove I want to share some fun images of the place. Notice the vertical part on the boat? Betty explained that that is the flying bridge, a place for the fisherman to look out for signs of fish. Wherever small fish are jumping you know they are fleeing big fish. You’ll see this same boat as we go along on our walk.

cove 1 cove 2

Our walk was made all the more pleasant by the company: Betty and Dale. We had a great time and lo and behold we discovered that we’d almost reached the end the first time we walked it! The Sparhawk Oceanfront Resort is the key. Yes, when we turned around at the Sparhawk last time, if we’d only kept going (made the 90 degree turn left) along the path to Shore Road, we’d have reached the other end. This time we didn’t realize it was the end until we’d continued our walk all the way to Ogunquit Beach, so that’s how the photos will go. You’ll see the signs for the “end” of the Marginal Way as we make our way back to the Perkins Cove end where we’d left the car. Views from along the Marginal Way:

view 1 view 2 view 3 view 4 view 5 view 6 view 7 view 8 view 9 view 10 view 11 view 12 view 13 view 14

On Shore Road as we were just about to the Ogunquit end of the Marginal Way you can see John (in blue) and Betty and Dale walking to that spot.

Some ducks (UPDATE: Eider ducks) we saw along our way as well. Thought they might have been Loons, but I don’t think they were. It looks like they were having a good time catching baby crabs.

duck 1 duck 2 duck 3 duck 4

Since Dale/Betty hadn’t see the Nubble Lighthouse and it was just a few miles south, we took them there as well. The fun thing is that while there we ran into Susan/Bill!!! It was kind of like a mini homecoming.

At home we had lunch then John read while I worked on the computer. Sweet surprise – Sherry said they were going in the hot tub, did we want to join them? Sure. This is a great life where, by and large, you can make these spontaneous decisions with what you’ll do.

Like before, after the hot tub we made supper, then relaxed at the campfire with our friends until bedtime.

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in Maine and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

