Sand Beach, Ocean Walk to Thunder Hole, Little Hunter’s Beach, Jordon Pond House Popover Sundae

7/2/14 Wednesday in Bar Harbor, ME (Mt. Desert Narrows Camping Resort-RCG)

Quiet morning with lap tops and TV. We’re waiting for the winds to pick up and the high tide for a better experience at Thunder Hole.

Having finished lunch we set off on our Acadia adventure. First a stop at the Visitor Center for clarification on where the Ocean Walk starts, where the Peregrine Watch is, where to look for Little Hunter’s Beach. After that brisk 52 step walk we were once again on our way. We stopped at the Prespice Trail parking lot to watch the Peregrines but no telescopes or rangers, so maybe there was too much wind. On to Sand Beach, where 70% of the sand is from shells.  It’s the only one in Acadia NP.   This time we found a spot to park on the road (allowed in the right lane of a one way road).

sand 1 sand 2

As we started up from Sand Beach we spotted on sign post (perpendicular post on the right) directing us to the Ocean Path. At the top was a parking lot and another such sign.

path sign 1 path sign 2 path sign 3

This path was like the Marginal Way in that it skirts the ocean, but it also is often along the road on the other side. On our way:

path 1 path 2 path 3

Destination reached: Thunder Hole. We hung around for almost 2 hours but no thunder. A local told us the waves were from wind so not as helpful. What you need besides the tide (from 2 hours before to 2 hours after) is a storm off in the distance causing waves underwater. The water will drop a great distance down, then “Whomp” crash the air in the cave underneath. First shots of the area and many of our tourist neighbors, then the hole in the best wave I could capture.

thunder hole 1 thunder hole 2 thunder hole 3

Now to find the elusive Little Hunter’s Beach. Just continue on that one way road around the cove to just before Hunter’s Head. The ranger said look for a split rail fence. We saw one with a crosswalk. That’s our car parked on the right. This is NOT the place, but it is a good heads up warning

crosswalk 1

because not far beyond you will come to a low stone fence with a crosswalk. Your definitive sign is the steep wood steps at the entrance.

hunter 1 hunter 2 hunter 2a hunter 3 hunter 4 hunter 5

At the beach you are struck by the lovely quiet of the place (no people) and the colorful rounded rocks. Then, when you get near the shoreline you hear the clatter of those rocks as the waves recede. Mesmerizing. Soon we found the shaded other side of the beach and just soaked in the sound of waves and clattering rocks. Much more fun than “Thunder Hole”.

hunter 6 hunter 7 hunter 8 hunter 9 hunter 10

You’d think nothing could top that. Well we found something that did – in a different sense – taste rather than sound. At Jordan Pond House, our next stop, where we got on the waitlist (at the information desk outside of the restaurant), got our beeper unit and were called in just 5 minutes. I got a photo of our seat, but forgot to take one of our Chocolate Popover Sundae. The melting ice cream just called to me and the thought of a picture flew out of my mind. We shared one sundae and were so glad we did. SO delicious, homemade ice cream (creamy & so chocolately) with a huge strawberry and a huge popover. We have to come again, just to get that photo you know…

jordan 1 jordan 2

Next a stop at Hannaford’s for groceries in Bar Harbor, then home. What a fabulous day. We whipped up a leftover meal of sauerkraut, then I got to watch more episodes of “Breaking Bad.”

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in Maine, National Parks (NPS) and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

