Camping World Appointment Disappointment

7/9/14 Wednesday in Rochester, MA (Gateway To Cape Cod-TT/OW)

Another hot, humid night when we have to get up early to travel, AGAIN. On the road by 7:15 am. All went fine until we got to the exit from I-495. We had to turn left off that ramp, the lights were not working for us yet they were working for all the other traffic-and there was a LOT (commuter time), but John managed to squeal out in a small break in that traffic. I was driving the CRV, so I stuck like a towed car right behind him. Next was that county road I was concerned about. It was rough. Several times the antenna hit tree branches. It was narrow and under construction so we had a stretch where only one lane was available (wait for other cars to pass, then go at “Slow” sign). John said, once we arrived, that he wouldn’t return via that route.

We got there just before 8 am and were the first in the door when they opened. At the Service desk we presented our issues to the service writer letting him know we had an appointment for 8 am. Later he explained that the appointment was written up as a “drop in”, as in we’d drop off the RV and they could take their time working on it. We impressed on him that this was our home, that if they didn’t have a place for us to park it (they didn’t) we needed to get it back to the campground tonight. He was helpful and earnest. Camping World in Florida had installed the InvisiBrake (satisfaction guaranteed) so we asked that they check to see if their installation was why we were having battery issues. It had all started when it had been installed. They were also to diagnose why the rear camera/monitor wasn’t working (and fix it if it were due to a wire) and diagnose the microwave to see what was causing the turntable to not turn. Mind you, we knew that the microwave’s problem was that the turntable wouldn’t turn. When I’d called to make the repair appointment the service writer said they needed to diagnose it first to see if maybe it just needed some electronic fix. As they got busy on it we started looking at the RV’s they had for sale that met our criteria. A salesman soon joined us and we did a lot of investigating.

John got in touch with our service writer. The news was that the camera/monitor weren’t working so they’d need to replace both and had to find a perfect size match for them. They couldn’t use the one we had found for sale there. Ouch. Also, the microwave would need to be replaced, they were looking for one that would fit. Lastly, it wasn’t their fault that the InvisiBrake was causing all that battery discharge. When they (this Camping World) install them they let the customer know that it would be necessary to also install a charge kit (that charges the battery from the RV alternator as we drive) at the same time to avoid this. So does that mean it’s not this Camping World’s fault, it’s our fault for not getting the extra charge kit installed?

Bottom line: we got charged for 3 diagnosis: Camera/monitor (later we’d told them that we’d checked out the monitor and needed to know if the camera had power, so then they said we just needed a new camera (with adaptations), not both). Microwave (we told them the turntable wouldn’t turn, nobody ever checked for a belt or wire causing the issue). InvisiBrake causing battery issue (why are we charged for asking for a satisfaction guarantee?). We are not happy, to say the least. Translation: $187.50 charge to tell us what we already knew.

We went a different way home which was much better except for a 3 mile road. Arrived to have a very late lunch and then retire – John to his METV (old TV shows) and I to the outside to read.

After our leftover spaghetti supper we took a walk in the campground to their pond. Big beautiful pond.

pond 1 pond 2 pond 3 pond 4 pond 5

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in Massachusetts and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

