Hyannis: JFK Museum and Memorial, Korean Memorial, Cape Cod Potato Chip Tour then Woods Hole Oceanographic Institute

7/22/14 Tuesday in Rochester, MA (Gateway To Cape Cod-TT/OW)

This was a gorgeous sunny dry day, so we felt it was good for more exploring.

Hyannis (on Cape Cod) where JFK experienced his most relaxing times with family. A quote of his: “I always go to Hyannisport to be revived, to know again the power of the sea and the master who rules over it and all of us.” They said he really loved the water. The little museum there had lots of neat family photos and videos of Ted Kennedy sharing. The boat is a replica of the one he sailed since he was 15 until late in his life.

museum 1museum 2 museum 3 museum 4

The Kennedy Compound on Hyannis Port is not as accessible at the Bush Compound. If you go my car you’re greeted with a very tall stockade fence. If you take the harbor cruise route you won’t actually see the Kennedy homes because of the angle of vision you’ll have. So we were satisfied with photos of there. The big house is where Rose and Joe lived and where the whole family would gather over the years.

museum 5 museum 6

On to the JFK Memorial (also in Hyannis): You could park here for free for 30 minutes. Other than that you paid for parking in this town! It’s right next to the Korean Memorial and next to that is the Veteran’s Park. We were tempted to eat our picnic lunch there on the shaded picnic tables but it cost $15 to park there! So we drove on to the Cape Cod Potato Chip Factory (on the outskirts of town, so free parking).

You see the harbor from these memorials which was a great symbol for them.

memorial 1 memorial 2 memorial 3 memorial 4 memorial 5 memorial 6 memorial 7potato 1 potato 2 potato 3 potato 4

It was a short but well organized tour. Do you know the movie playing in 1980? “The Empire Strikes Back”. Nice informative posters as you walk along a hall looking through large glass panes at the activity inside. Short with a prize at the end – a small bag of potato chips. Since I don’t eat potato products John got both of them. The beauty of it is they had 1 picnic table along the path you take to the factory building from the parking lot. So we enjoyed our lunch there. As one lady was leaving she commented what a great “idear” it was!!

Off to another town, Woods Hole. Strange name you say? You’re right! We came there to see the Woods Hole Oceanographic Institute, so first stop was their information center (in town, just after you cross the little drawbridge, at the blue and white striped awning). We’d stopped prematurely at a big silver sign for Woods Hole Oceanographic Institute only to find out that was one of their many big labs. Anyway, the lady at the information place gave us a copy of the article that explained the name. John went to plug our parking meter while she was doing that. I got to read some before he returned. I’m explaining all this because I can’t find it!!! What I remember: When someone wanted to purchase the land it was described to them as “Wood his own Hole” his own was an old fashioned way to say the possessive (Wood’s). Hole meant a dreary place. Someone tried to change the name to something nicer, like Wood’s Holl, but it didn’t fly, so there you have it!

They had a great exhibit of the Titanic that sank in 1912 (I sure didn’t know they were the ones who found it) and of the submarine (Alvin) that carries 3 people deep down in the Ocean. Bonus, you get to see me taking the photo of the replica of the ship 1 hour after the iceberg hit.

ocean 1 ocean 2 ocean 3 ocean 4 ocean 5 ocean 5a ocean 5b ocean 5c ocean 6 ocean 7 ocean 8 ocean 9 ocean 10

Then we walked past a cool vine covered building of theirs to a cute really small museum where a very wise looking docent explained things to us. He was quite the talker and soon we had to get back before our meter ran out. But I really wanted to take his picture. Not the best, but people change when they know you’ll take their photo.

docent 1 docent 2

This time we were headed for home earlier, so there wasn’t as bad a hold up at the roundabout near the bridge and we were back before 4 pm. First thing as we arrived at our campground was to see if our wireless rear view camera/monitor were here. They were! Yay!!! John checked them out a bit before supper.

When we got home our neighbors (Carole and Dave) invited us to share where we went (and we were interested in their exploits), so as soon as we got our stuff in the rig we commenced visiting until supper time.

As I was finishing the supper dishes I noticed John talking to neighbors across the way (Gloria/Ron) who have a 36 foot Journey, so I had to see what I may be missing. Thus we were busy until time to get ready for bed. Then our friend, Greg, called. Dang. I was supposed to call him but kept getting distracted. So we talked awhile out at the picnic table (for better cell service) but the mosquitoes were having a feast on us, so we retired to the rig. Thank heavens the cell phone worked well enough there so we continued our conversation. Ah such a big, fun day!!!

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

