Moving on – to Florida, NY

7/27/14 Sunday in Florida, NY (Black Bear Campground-Private/$60/night)

I learned something this morning: my GPS can find its satellite far more easily when we are sitting still than when we are moving. Once we’re moving it can keep an eye on its satellite even through deep trees. Heck, it found it in the first place in the deep trees of our campsite. On our way by 8 am. Nice quiet Sunday on the road.

Something I keep forgetting to mention; Dunkin’ Donuts is hugely popular in the Northeast. We were talking to a gentleman at South Station who explained that it started in Massachusetts. He said Krispy Kreme and others have tried to get a foothold to no avail. Starbucks has managed to hang in here.

Hello Rhode Island. Why do they have to put their signs behind posts or other signs?

RI 1

I was worried about merging onto I-95 from I-195 right in Providence. Week day traffic reports always showed slow downs there, that’s a big part of traveling on Sunday this trip. There was a lot of traffic but plenty of lanes to handle it. Good signs too.

Hello Connecticut. Their sign was on the left of the road so of course I didn’t see it! Lots of green in this part of Connecticut, so I’ll share that. They do seem to be short on rest stops. Our map shows several that don’t exist or are closed now, so we had to drive 2.5 hrs to our first one. There was one at the border of MA and CT but we thought there’d be plenty just after it….

CT 1

A lot of construction in and West of New Haven, CT. I-95 along the coast of CT sure was busy, even on a Sunday.

Our second rest stop was an adventure. Their layout was confusing and John followed a sign that said Truck Detour. Unfortunately it meant for us NOT to travel that way because it was gated at the end. By this time we’d committed to that road, so we had to unhook our toad and back up the RV. I was grateful that NOW we actually had a working rear camera for John to use. Of course we had to hook up again. The car’s battery managed the 2.5 hours before the first rest stop but this time we realized the brake fuse had blown. Must have had to brake sharply at some point.

New York

CT 2 NY

After our adventure at the rest stop (car), we crossed the infamous Tappan Zee Bridge over the Hudson River. 6 lanes wide, traffic was going about 35-40 mph. I liked that on this narrow place. No toll for cars going west (they’re happy you’re leaving New York City I think), but a toll for buses, trucks and the like. Curious what our EZPass will compute as the charge. Our friends with a similar rig and toad (towed car) paid $25.

bridge 1 bridge 2

I-87 up in the Adirondacks was a gorgeous road but down here North of the Tappan Zee Bridge it sucks. The last half of our time on I-87 smoothed out thank heavens.

Notice the city we’ve come to..Florida. One more example of New Yorkers using other countries, states, city names for their own. Are you wondering why we, frugal as we are, would be paying $60/night (7th night free)? It started with our plans for Croton Point Campground (which was $50/night, I think because they are so close to New York City). While asking a trucker about the best roads to take there he just couldn’t find a good one for a big rig in the last 20 or so miles. At the same time we were with friends who were coming to this park in Florida because they also could get a guided tour of New York from here. We also were only about 1 month from our scheduled time to be there and were concerned about spending time to try to find a better option. So sometimes we consider the benefits of spending money and take that path. Later we found out that we could have gone to a ROD park about 30 miles north of this one which would have been “free” for us, but farther from New York and possibly no guided tour bus….

I thought that having to pay $60/night we’d get the star treatment. Not so much-no level concrete pad to put the rig or another for a patio. They do have asphalt roads and we did get a pretty level site (both slides are out) with full hookups (50 amps, fairly strong). We also have satellite TV (first time in 2 months) and free Internet. Seems to work fine from our coach.

It was a very warm humid day, with some light rain a couple times. We were grateful none of the predicted severe weather thunderstorms came through where we were. Poor John was sweating like crazy trying to set up while I enjoyed the glorious air conditioned Miss Zanzibar. It was after 2 pm before we could relax, John checking out our next route and I looking into New York City sites beyond what we’ll see on our tour.

We took a sort walk around the campground and met a couple who work here (living in their Winnebago). No mosquitoes, they assured us!! For a final rest we watched “Big Time RV”, mostly a Lazy Daze ad but fun for us who are looking.

A bit if summer:

flowers 8

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in Connecticut, Massachusetts, New York, Rhode Island and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

