Free Ice Cream and Music!

8/2/14 Saturday in Florida, NY (Black Bear Campground-Private/$60/night)

This morning I got working on transferring and organizing my photos from July. Such a busy month: 1156 photos! That pretty much took up my morning. John, naturally, was studying his computer data and watching TV. After lunch we drove 12 miles to a CVS Pharmacy for John’s A1C (diabetes blood test) but they didn’t have any. Bummer. At least we also needed milk and they had some. Also good, I had a $3 coupon for my birthday from CVS so the milk didn’t cost but $1.19.

Back at home I was reading, then felt like a nap (John watched golf). Mm Mm delightful. Once I was refreshed I worked on updates, including our schedule, to the blog. If you’re wondering where we’ll be until 2015 you can check it out (at the top in the black line).  Naturally subject to change.

We tried a new recipe with ground turkey. Nice and easy, simple ingredients tossed into a bowl we them warmed up in our microwave. Tasty too. I even had time to do the dishes before we went for our free ice cream here.

We arrived at the Pavilion to discover they had live music too. A gentleman was playing his guitar and singing. Soon more people arrived and the ice cream was served with sauce choices too. Fun. We got to visit with a young family that had gone into NYC yesterday only to manage to catch the last train (12:40 am) away from the city. Then there were issues with the train so they were shifted to a bus. Of course they had to drive their truck from the parking space to the campground. They arrived after 3 am. I can understand why they didn’t take the guided bus tour. They have 3 neat children and the charge for children is $90 each.

A wonderful ending to our pre travel day. We did get our jobs done before the ice cream too. Back at Miss Zanzibar we continued our discussion over buying a new(er) rig. They are SO expensive and continue to cost in repairs. John prefers something that we can count on for 10 years. That means it needs to be almost new. This would cost nearly all our liquid savings or cost even more if we finance and pay interest. Similar to a house’s cost, but this would depreciate.

By the way, we heard then that there have been sightings of a young black bear, deer and wild turkeys with about 30 babies. Good by Black Bear Campground, we’ll miss you!  (These blooms were actually next to the House of Seven Gables in Salem, MA)

flowers 7

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in New York and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

