Moving on – to East Stroudsburg,PA

8/3/14 Sunday in East Stroudsburg,PA (Timothy Lake South-TT/OW)

On our way by 9:45 am. Nice time for a short drive. We even did our normal morning things instead of our abbreviated travel day breakfast. We’d been concerned about taking Rt. 209 through the Delaware Water NRA because it was not marked as a truck safe route on our Motor Carriers Atlas. A lady at the office asked someone who arrived from the south. They said it was a good, safe road, 2 lane. Then this morning our neighbors (we visited with them a couple nights ago) said they traveled it yesterday and it was fine. They’d told us there was a small private bridge that would in no way handle our huge rig. Also last night we discovered the campground directions said to take Rt. 209. So we decided to take that road. Shortly before we came to Hwy 209 we took a side trip to a Pilot in New Jersey for fuel. It’s way cheaper here than anywhere else in the North East.

The best news: Hwy 209 was a lot like the Trace (no commercial vehicles allowed) with more shoulder than the Trace. Whew! Speed limit was 45 mph, sometimes 35 mph, but that was fine because it was hilly and curvy (in a gentle way).

Soon enough we arrived by 11:30 am, getting set up and settling down for quiet time-John with golf and I with computer business. Beautiful campground in the Poconos with a kind of level site (with blocks under our tires but could still put our slides out), Full Hook Ups (FHU), 50 amp power, Satellite TV and no free WiFi. Can’t have everything! They do have a heated pool-a rarity in the East.  They also  seem to have firm, enforced rules which is nice. Just follow their campground directions to get there. Once you’re on Timothy Lake Road watch for their large signs.  On that road we saw a dead fawn and what looked like a small eagle flew right in front of us.

As John was still watching his golf and I catching up on my blog reading, we heard a knock on our door. Hayden and Duane had read my email of our new location and came to see us. We had the best of visits! Unfortunately they have to leave tomorrow, wouldn’t you know. We hope to meet again in Hershey, though.

Finally we split up in time for supper and our evening TV.

Another bloom (this was near a canal in Canada).  I think it’s wisteria.

Flowers 4

 

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

