Bushkill Falls and Dingman Falls on the Delaware Water Gap NRA

8/5/14 Tuesday in East Stroudsburg,PA (Timothy Lake South-TT/OW)

Called DISH again only to be told (again) that we need to have a technician come to our rig and change our satellite dish so it would see the satellites. Apparently the satellites have changed their orbit. No charge thank heavens. Question: why did we get our New York local stations without all this? When we were in Maine they said it was only in Maine that there would be this issue. Oh well. So we get to wait tomorrow from noon to 5 for the tech to show up.

I saw a deer early (6 am) this morning. It was calm (pretty far from me but in the campground). Just lovely.

Got our lunch packed and we were on our way by 9:40 am. Bushkill Falls was recommended by the gal at the Pocono Visitor Bureau. It’s private so the fee was $11.50/senior. Well worth it. We took the long hike (2.5 hours) and were glad we did. Gorgeous. Most of the time you walk along a beautiful creek. There are many waterfalls. There’s a lot of tourist stuff but you know we don’t go in for that. We even met a lady on the trail (a couple times) who works there. She walks the trails on her days off.

In the parking lot and our first views

bush 30 bushkill 1 bushkill 2 bush 3

Fennel Falls

bush 23

bush 5

On our way

bush 6 bush 7 bush 12 bush 13 bush 14 bush 15 bush 16People threw money here, I think for luck and trying to get into the holes in the rock.

bush 21 bush 29

Bridesmaids Falls (1st)

bush 8

Bridal Veil Falls we got to walk DOWN 80 steps, others from the other direction walked UP.

bush 9 bush 10

Bridesmaids Falls (2nd)

bush 11

Lower Gorge Falls

bush 17 bush 18 bush 19 bush 20

Main Falls from below, then from above

bush 22 bush 23 bush 24 bush 25 bush 26

Upper Canyon

bush 28

Further north on Rt 209 we stopped at Dingman Falls Visitor Center (NPS-free). This was an easy walk along a boardwalk to 2 lovely falls. We even got to talking with 2 couples there. Amazing how much people who love to travel have in common.

Silver Thread Falls. We think the name came from the thin visual thread of water you see. It really starts way at the top, to the right and left of that light struck tree in the center top. John also noted that it’s falling between very straight rock cuts then at the bottom it threads below some rock. You can see that at the top of the last photo.

ding 1 ding 2 ding 3

Dingman Falls

ding 4

On our way back the 2nd couple pointed out these 2 cute beavers munching on leaves. Wow. This is the second time we’ve seen live beavers and they were so much closer.

ding 5

By this time we were very tired, sore feet and toes and happily headed back home. THEN after watching some tapes of “Hell On Wheels” episodes we’d missed with all our non satellite times we went south to Red Robin for my free 10th burger and John got $5 off his burger. Most delicious. Thanks, Red Robin!! We finished our night off with the remaining episodes of “Hell On Wheels” up through the premier for this season, so we’re now caught up.

 

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in Pennsylvania and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

