Zane Gray Museum and Roebling’s Delaware Aqueduct

8/11/14 Monday in East Stroudsburg,PA (Timothy Lake South-TT/OW)

Today we got going before 9:30 am because we had a long drive to the Zane Gray Museum, plus a side stop at the Post Office. They had John’s medicine!! Whew!! They’ve been known to send it via UPS which won’t deliver to a General Delivery address.

On our way north on Hwy 402 we came upon signs for Resica Falls. I’d read about it and thought it would be fun to see so how cool that it just happened to fall along our path to Zane Gray. It’s right off the highway. Even though it’s part of a Boy Scout property they have parking for visitors, allowing them access to the falls which are right next to the parking. What more could you ask for?

falls 1 falls 2 falls 3 falls 4

Just as we were about to leave a lady with her son drove in. She was looking for Bushkill Falls. It felt so good to be able to help her.

Finally we reached the Museum in Lackawaxen, PA. Did you know that Pennsylvania is a Commonwealth? So is Massachusetts. Wonder how that’s different from a State. I bet it’s their state constitution. I think our nation’s constitution was based on much of Massachusetts’. This marked where we had to park because they were laying gravel on the space we’d normally have used. Yes, they

have a boat launch just across the street.

boat 1 boat 2

This museum is run by the NPS and it’s free! Rather small, though. Just the 1st floor of the home. You can walk on the grounds following “Dolly’s Garden Path” to see the other houses used by the family and even spots, now marked by lilac bushes, where they had outhouses. The Big House I’ve pictured (the Museum) was the second house on the property that the family lived in. Both Zane and his wife Dolly (actually Lina Elise) are buried in the cemetery nearby, in walkable distance.

zane 1 zane 2 zane 3

If you are interested in the details of his life I’ll share their words. Zane was an artist as well. That pencil sketch of a woman was beautiful! They think a lot of the images in his books are based on his personal photographs.

words 1 words 2 words 3 words 4 words 6 words 7 words 8 words 8a words 8b words 8c words 9 words 10 words 5**words 1-10

Before we left the ranger let us use the little bathroom on the 2nd floor (closed to tourists). I loved the old art posters exhibited in that room!

words 11

The ranger also told us the NPS had responsibility for Roebling’s Delaware Aqueduct. Naturally we had to check that out! It was just down the road (in fact it is in the photo of the “boaters”). The engineer John A Roebling built the oldest surviving wire cable suspension structure. Later (1887) he completed the Brooklyn Bridge. Again, I’ll be lazy and let you read their words.

delaware 1 delaware 2 delaware 3 delaware 4 delaware 5 delaware 6 delaware 7 delaware 8 delaware 9 delaware 10

The above were on the pedestrian walkway. Below I pictured the path for cars. As the ranger noted, it was a real struggle to get the snow out in the winter! I’m standing in New York at this point, having crossed the bridge from the Pennsylvania side.

delaware 11

On that side stands a small building with information about those who plied the river first and the only private canal built here: the Delaware and Hudson (D&H) Canal. The last is of the family cabin where the canal driver and his family lived on the canal boat.

del 1 del 2 del 3

When we drove back home on the Pennsylvania side (know that Hwy 209 follows the Delaware River separating Pennsylvania, on the West side of the River, from New Jersey,). We rarely get many glimpses of the Delware from Hwy 209 so this was great to see so much of that river here at the bridge.

Back at home John got the grill out and we had pork steaks with grilled green beans. Yum!

I enjoyed watching “Breaking Bad” episodes we’d taped that started from the beginning. AMC will continue playing the episodes in order on Sundays until they finish all 52 in October.  This was a good time for John to play on the computer.

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in National Parks (NPS), New York, Pennsylvania and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

