A Day For Learning

8/16/14 Saturday in Lebanon,PA (Hershey-TT)

This morning I worked on the blog and pictures while John got a couple projects knocked off: cleaned windshield of bugs and put silicone over hole surrounding antenna of our wireless rear camera. He’s now satisfied that the camera is pointing where he wants it to, so he can seal things up from the rain. Then we went grocery shopping (still fun!) and hurried home to get the groceries away and bolt down some lunch so we could make it to the Customer Appreciation Meeting at the Adult Lodge. We were a bit late but they hadn’t started yet. Plus there were cookies, doughnuts and beverages.

TT Info in this paragraph:

We learned the problems with power stem from the nearby Sawmill. When it starts up early in the morning it steals power from the campground. When it quits in the afternoon, we have 120 volts. The manager has been fighting with the power company for a couple years on this issue and won’t quit until she gets her share of the power all the time. She also said that she is holding the number of annuals down to 50. She said it takes strength to stand up to forces that push her into selling more. She realizes she doesn’t have more land to build more campsites for the travelers, thus her stance. Also they will be getting WiFi through ELS which plans to make it (a new kind) available to all the campgrounds. It will cost, though. Cable TV will also be installed here next year. At the next meeting about ELS and Upgrades we learned that the public used to come to camp for free 2 nights and 3 days, then listen to a sales pitch. Now they come in as retail guests paying $60/night. This way there is income for ELS. Also, Hershey reserved 50 sites for the earlier public, now they reserve 20 sites. They are also invited to join TT. If they buy a Zone Pass they get what they paid to camp applied as credit on their Zone Pass dues.

When we got back to our campsite we settled in to enjoy the gorgeous weather in the shade of our little pine tree, reading. As it got later I suggested we take a short walk and see if we could talk to the people in the Ventana, maybe getting a look. They weren’t outside so that didn’t happen but the Safari Simba owners were outside so we got talking with them. Soon friends of their showed up and we all really got to talking. Hard to tear away for supper.

After supper we confirmed that yes, Winnebago is still making the Journey/Itasca Meridian 34B rigs. We had a hard time finding them while with our new friends. Still few and far between units for sale. By the time I remembered to take some photos of the campground, the sun was setting. Dang!

Here’s my best shot.

pond 1 pond 2

Time for TV.

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in Pennsylvania. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

