Hershey’s Chocolate World Attraction

8/17/14 Sunday in Lebanon,PA (Hershey-TT)

Enjoyed our Sunday pancake breakfast before church.

It rained all morning but the sun came out when we left the church. We whipped up our leftover black eyed pea soup and some sandwiches for lunch, followed by a discussion on a possible RV for us. Such a complicated issue.

The soup was so good it put me to sleep, so a nap for me and watching golf for John. I got up with energy to address my emails, then time for supper already: corn on the cob, lots of veggies and Spanish Rice.

When I got the dishes done I noticed the sun was starting to go down so we headed out for a walk.

walk 1 walk 2 walk 3

We stopped at the Family Center and picked up some brochures. You may be wondering why we haven’t been so hot to explore. It’s partly because campgrounds have great activities on the weekend and busy on the “outside”, but it’s also because we were here, at this campground, September 2009. I’ll be sharing those photos on our quieter days like this one. Here’s where we went to “Hershey’s Chocolate World Attraction.” Cute with a movie, a ride through a pretend factory (a cow takes your picture) and you get a chocolate kiss at the end. Fun for kids of all ages. They also have “Hersheypark” which ia a world-class amusement park. We never went there because that’s not our thing, generally. Hershey Town is lovely with all the street names based on chocolate. They even have Hershey Kisses on the street lamps.  Milton Hershey built it to take care of his workers. That’s actually why he built the amusement park and schools which still take in troubled kids for free.

hershey 1 hershey 2 hershey 3

At the end of our walk we came upon Billy/Jim and Dottie/Jack and got to talking until the mosquitoes arrived. Then Dottie/Jack took off for home. They are still working.

Back at the rig we settled in to watch some DVR taped shows. After a bit the DVR said there was a signal loss. What? Nothing, absolutely nothing had changed. Since it was late I said let’s just go to bed and let it work itself out. I was not happy that it looked like it may not take the “Breaking Bad Binge” shows I wanted recorded. John checked that our satellite was still pointed as it had been, then returned and turned the TV on. It said “Acquiring Signal”. We figured maybe there was an issue with the DISH satellite.

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in Pennsylvania and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

