Potluck and Campfire at OUR Place

9/3/14 Wednesday in Lebanon,PA (Hershey Campground-TT)

Normal morning, including blog writing then I was outside talking with our single neighbor. She’s here for the RV show as well and offered some tips and to guide us there on Wednesday. Yay! I made a macroni salad for our potluck tonight. While in that process Susan stopped over to explain that we’d need to have our party at our site, because it’s so much roomier than theirs. Ah, guess it was our turn to contribute!! She reassured me that it would be no big deal, that about 14-16 people would be coming. What people? Others Larry knew in the campground. OK…need another table.

John wanted to go to Costco to get the volume on his hearing aids turned down. We toyed with the idea of going in the morning, but I wanted to get the t shirts out of our dryer and thought it’d be better to enjoy the gorgeous weather this morning. This afternoon we’d be in our air conditioned car and Costco when it got hot. Because most of the humidity was gone, even the afternoon was lovely.

John got a little lost (disagreed with our GPS a couple times), but we made it just fine. He also figured we could get a new battery for the CRV. The original was about 3 years old and after undergoing all the discharge issues with InvisiBrake was pretty much on its last leg. After completing those projects we picked up a couple grocery items, then came home. As we were putting these away I noticed a stink bug on a window (outside). Great. We’ve heard they storm onto the campground, looking for a warm place, after the corn has been harvested. Hope we’re gone by then.

We enjoyed the rest of our beautiful afternoon reading in the shade. Soon it was time for our gathering and Larry brought over his barbecue and wood for a fire. He and John got Jean’s table (she sweetly let us borrow it) and got things set. We had a mini happy hour while the meat was cooking (we managed to fit it all on our barbecue-8 couples actually came). Great food, then fun sharing around the Larry managed campfire. He’s our expert and donates lots of the wood. Another couple arrived and wouldn’t you know, there were a few more hamburgers still warm on the grill. Of course, it got dark and after a while we spit for our rigs. Big day for Susan/Bill and Larry/Gail tomorrow: They are taking Tasha (Gail’s poodle) to a groomer, then go out to breakfast, then Bill to the train to NY. He’s flying to London to visit his daughter, son-in-law and new granddaughter. He’ll be back in a week. Nice alone time for Susan too.

Hershey:

hershey 2

 

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in Pennsylvania. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

