Moving on – to Gettysburg,PA and the National Museum of Civil War Medicine

9/19/14 Friday in Gettysburg,PA (Gettysburg Battlefield Resort-ROD)

For several reasons, we left around 10:15am: John wanted to record “Kelly and Michael Live”, we’ll avoid commuter traffic and we have a short trip ahead of us. There were some issues getting the P/S (Passenger Side) slide in but we managed. From now on we’ll make sure there is more gap between slide and wall before setting that slide out. A few stink bugs made their appearance in the rig as we were getting ready to go. Someone said they come out when the corn is being harvested. Others said they are seeking warmth. Both make sense for this to be the time they are searching out a new, cozy home in our RVs at the end of September, beginning of October. So we may see a lot more at this next campground.

Nice trip – US 322, I-83S, PA 518, then US 15 for the majority of our trip. That US 15 is 4 lanes, sprinkled with a few stop lights and speed limits for towns.

To be honest we’d planned to go to the South Jersey shore at this point, but it looked like we’d be traveling through heavily congested East coast traffic and committing ourselves to going south near Baltimore and Washington DC which everyone has recommended against. Thus we decided the Jersey shore wasn’t worth the stress. Call us wimps if you’d like, but that’s our decision. By going south now, we can cross to the East coast below those very busy cities.

We arrived in about an hour and a half, so after setting up (not very level so D/S slide has to stay in this time), we drove the car to Frederick, MD, to see the National Museum of Civil War Medicine.

Some myths debunked:

war 1 war 2 war 3

Did You Know?

war 4 war 5 war 9a war 9b war 10

Clara Barton not only started the American Red Cross, she was in charge of finding Missing Soldiers. The room where she worked for this was in Washington DC and left untouched after she moved on in 1868– until the General Services Administration (GSA) re-discovered it in 1998!

war 6 war 7 war 8

On our way back home we stopped at “Beckley’s RV” to see if they had anything we’d be interested in. They did and we went through the process but once again we can’t afford it: used 2013 Winnebago Journey 36M. They gave us $56,000 for trade in and gave the price at $210,000 which meant we had to pay $154,000. Too much distance for them to drop to what we can afford. Sigh. Must look at even older used rigs I guess.

Very tired when we got home, but it sure felt good to have accomplished so much on a travel day!

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in Maryland, Pennsylvania and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Moving on – to Gettysburg,PA and the National Museum of Civil War Medicine

  1. Janice Andre says:

    Hi Trisha, interesting article about medicine during Civil War! Haven’t been following you. Dry closely, sorry. It must be wonderful to just be able to go. You would have liked the So Jersey shore. I grew up there, well not south but mid. Belmar, Asbury Park area. I almost went, had time off to meet friends, then decided to have much needed foot surgery during that time. Are you looking for a new RV?

    • tjelser says:

      Good to hear from you Janice. What did you mean by Dry closely? Sorry we’ll miss your old stomping grounds. Someday, maybe we’ll fly there…

Leave a Reply

