Moving on – to Gloucester,VA

9/30/14 Tuesday in Gloucester,VA (Chesapeake Bay Campground-TT)

us 301

On our way by 9:45. Short, simple trip today, via Rt 3, US 301S and US 71S.. Both 301 and 17 are 4 lane highways with little traffic and few towns. Pretty smooth pavement as well. It feels like Virginia does a good job keeping up its roads. This is the way to travel in an RV!

We arrived at the campground around 11:30, getting a good spot: level (both slides out), free 50 amp power, water, sewer, satellite (with HD stations). Nice gravel roads, beautiful grounds (spacious campsites). They even have a hot tub and pickleball. Maybe we’ll do less exploring the history here and more relaxing.

I spent the afternoon getting my month’s photos organized, then we drove to Gloucester to get our mail. After that I got to watching tapes of the “Breaking Bad Binge” shows. John hinted that we were going to run out of space because of all my Breaking Bad and Mad Men tapes. I got the message! Naturally he was working on his spreadsheet projects.

Supper was that delicious Chicken a la King with sauteed mushrooms, then, when it was cool, we took a walk. What a beautiful park. Great grass and sandy beach on the river. It reminds me of a Corps of Engineers campground.

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in Virginia and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Moving on – to Gloucester,VA

  1. Judy says:

    It’s a beautiful state. I’ll be back in mid-October for a reunion. But I never got to the part you’re in; I think it’s called Northern Neck. Water makes Eastern Virginia incredibly complicated geographically. I used to have maps on my walls, various perspectives. And forget asking anyone about north, south, east and west. There’s no point to it. In the Hampton Roads area I swear no two roads are perpendicular or parallel.

    • tjelser says:

      Yes, this is called the Northern Neck and it is beautiful. There is a lot of history here. Isn’t this pretty close to Norfolk where you lived one time? We plan to be in the area until 10/21.

    • tjelser says:

      You are so right about the roads, too. I hadn’t figured out the connection between the waterways and roads.

Leave a Reply

