Lab Draw and Colonial Williamsburg

10/16/14 Thursday in Gloucester,VA (Chesapeake Bay RV Resort-TT)

John’s doctor in Washington wanted him to get various lab results from a blood draw so on our way home from Williamsburg Tuesday I did a lot of phone calling to get everything squared away. Thus today the lab has a lab order from our doctor and will see John when they open (8 am) for his blood draw. No food, just water/coffee from midnight until the draw, so we’re getting there as early as possible. It’s on the way to Colonial Williamsburg, so it works out really well.

There is a bridge we cross going on the East side of the York River. It’s free going South, then has a toll going North. The signs say $2 each car. We wondered what it was with our EZ Pass. Yesterday I found out: $.85!! Such a deal!

We made it to Sentara Gloucester Medical Arts by 8 am, but it was 8:45 am before we continued to Colonial Williamsburg.  Nice digs for a lab, yes?

sentara 1

Such a fun day!!! None of the owies of last time, to start. A couple scenes from our lovely walk from the Visitor Center to the action:

walk 1 walk 2

We arrived in time to be a part of “Storming the Palace”, where us common folk our upset because someone got into our magazine and stole powder. The preacher and militia encourage our anger.

magazine storming 1 storming 2

then lead us to meet Peyton Randolph (Speaker of the House of Burgess) who tells us words are better than violence to settle disputes. He then presents our issues to Governor Dunbar.

storming 3 storming 4 storming 5

Time to watch parts of 18th century plays at the “Play Booth” in a rendition titled “Fops, Rogues & Villains”. We had such a great time, laughed so hard, I never even thought to take photos!

play 1 play 2 play 3

On to the Art Museum to hear 18th century music while ambling through the Decorative and Folk Art museums (in one building). Interestingly, they required all backpacks, food, muskets, pistols to be locked in their lockers.

museum 1 museum 2 museum 3 museum 4 museum 5 museum 6 museum 7 museum 8

Paul Revere pieces:

museum 9

Public Hospital – for the mentally ill:

museum 10 museum 11 museum 12

Tranquilizer chair:

museum 13

We have a picnic lunch on a bench there, where as I’m eating an apple crunch on something really hard. Hmm. After spitting that bit out on the dirt, I wondered if it might be a filling. Too late to find it on the ground……

We learned more at the wheelwright shop, where it’s difficult working without artificial light, especially on rainy days like yesterday.

wheels 1 wheels 2 wheels 3 wheels 4

Then we saw the George Wyth (pronounced “with”) house. This man was Thomas Jefferson’s tutor and friend. He was the first professor of law at an American college and signed the Declaration of Independence for Virginia. He was into the “Enlightenment”, loving science and reason, leading many who came to his home in scientific explorations and discussions. George Washington and party gathered here to plan the siege of Yorktown.

wyth 1 wyth 2 wyth 3 wyth 4 wyth 5 wyth 6 wyth 7

In his backyard there was a “dovecote”, where they raised birds to eat.

wyth 8

Back to the Art Museum to watch a presentation, “Meet A National Builder: Marquis De Lafayette”. Wow. I think this man was incredible, both the real LaFayette as well as this actor. So French, so passionate, so knowledgeable. The audience gave him a standing ovation. His name is Mark Schneider. The receptionist said he’d been portraying Napoleon all over the world, for years. No photos allowed.

Next we reached the cabinet shop

cabinet 1 cabinet 2 cabinet 3

Then the Cooper (barrel maker). We were told one of those working here was trained by real coopers in England. We think he’s the man I’ve pictured.

cooper 1 cooper 2

Time to head home, but on the way we stopped at Whitley Peanut Factory. We’d been told that have tours, but apparently, not any more. We still bought lots of their Virginia peanuts. There are actually many kinds of peanuts, which, incidentally, they say are good for people with diabetes 2.

peanut 1

Not finished yet, we stopped for gas, then later for groceries. Ah, home at last for another leftover supper of pork roast, then TV.

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in Virginia and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

