Moving on – to Advance, NC and Dentist Visit

10/20/14 Monday in Advance, NC (Forest Lake-TT)

On our way by 8:15 am. We had a little excitement when, on our way, John realized he’d never input the address into his GPS. Would we find a wide spot to stop and set it? He did, before I-64W, thank heavens.

Long trip, but mostly freeway roads so we were hoping our trip would be pretty endurable. I-64W, I-1295S, I-85S. The intersection of I-64 to I-295 went smoothly, although the road was pretty rough around there and for several miles, even on I-85S for several more miles. Plus we had the refrigerator break open and drop out a couple items. Finally, the road got decent. Ah, North Carolina – it’s beautiful.

nc

We had a little excitement when John saw a sign for Pilot (fuel). He’d seen the paperwork for this Pilot saying there were no pumps, but he so wanted to get our fuel in Virginia because it’s cheaper than in North Carolina. Well, after pulling off we couldn’t find a Pilot. There was an Exxon with diesel, so John had to finagle some tight spaces to get to the pumps, only to realize that he’d driven onto the wrong side of the pump for our RV. At that point I suggested we just get back on I-85S, so we did.

I called the dentist. An appointment was available Tuesday. Good, no pressure. Later the dentist called. There was a cancellation for 3:30pm today. We might make it, but it would be tight. She said she’d leave my appointment for Tuesday and I could call around 1 or 2 if I thought we could make the 3:30 one. Meanwhile I’m to connect to the Internet and print some paperwork, bringing it to the office completed. In the interest of efficiency, I used my smart phone hotspot to connect and tell my computer to print. When we stopped at a rest area, I connected to the printer and printed them. Wouldn’t you know, it looked like we’d get to the campground at 2 pm, so we called to let them know we’d come to the 3:30 pm appointment.

Once we arrived, it took an hour to check in, unhook the car, find a place and get level. Off we went to the dentist in Lexington. They were wonderful and the great news is: No filling came out! My teeth are fine!!! On our way back we picked up some groceries.

Need I say, we were really tired then and glad we just had to heat up our leftover taco soup from yesterday. We couldn’t get satellite TV but we did get the locals so we were happy to enjoy “Dancing With The Stars” then hit the sack. You know, like the sacks of straw that the slaves had to sleep on in our colonial times……

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in North Carolina and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

