Cold, Rain and “Frustration” Card Game

11/1/14 Saturday in Advance, NC (Forest Lake-TT)

I slept in, enjoying the cozy warmth of our coach while the rain poured on-all night and morning. I got involved with our month end business, figuring out a crock pot supper so we could got to church tonight and have supper ready when we got back at 6:30 pm. Why go on a Saturday night? So we can attend the worship service and potluck at our campground Sunday morning.

We had a late lunch to match our late breakfast and late dinner, then a nice walk with our friends to the clubhouse to play cards again. We learned “Frustration”. More to keep in mind than our game of “13”, more challenging and still fun. We didn’t quite finish our game, so we got together after supper for the last of it. John won!!

The church in Lexington is small. John figured maybe, when full, it would hold 200 people. In fact, as the priest was giving bulletin sort of announcements before the last song, he remembered to note the visitors. He actually walked up to our row and asked us directly where we were from!! There was one other lady (from New York, Long Island) that he asked as well. He sure knows his congregation!!!

Another view from Forest Lake:

forest 14

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in North Carolina and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

