Different Sunday

11/2/14 Sunday in Advance, NC (Forest Lake-TT)

Thank heavens John disconnected our water last night so the freeze this morning didn’t affect us.

This morning we attended a different church service. They had Baptist hymnals, but I suspect it was organized for a generic group of Christians. Interesting. John likes to time the length of the sermon. For him, 8 minutes limit is tops in his world. This one took ½ hour, so it did not rate in his favorite list.

At noon we all gathered at the adult clubhouse for a potluck (covered dish) get together. Lots of food, especially beans/chili and salads. Just right for a very cold, sunny day. We brought John’s “cowboy beans”, where he added ground turkey and onion. When we’d filled ourselves with great conversation (with Karen/Jeff) and food, the four of us took a walk to the overflow section that’s out by a cornfield.

Naturally, we followed that with rip roaring games of cards: “13”, then “Golf.” John won at “13” and I actually won at “Golf”. That was a first for me!!! That game generally confused me….

Too soon it was supper time and we each had nice hot soup, then watched our favorite TV shows: 60 Minutes, Madame Secretary and The Good Wife. During our TV I got involved in a special project:

cleaning the mold/mildew I noticed flourishing in parts of my washer/dryer soap etc. dispenser. It had gotten to such a sight that I consulted my manual and found that I could actually pull the whole dispenser piece out. Then I discovered that the roof above the dispenser was filled with black gunk as well. That job took lots of vinegar and scrubbing with q tips and toothpicks.

For the second night John disconnected our from our city water and brought in our outside water filters.

Another view from Forest Lake:

forest 17

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in North Carolina. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

