Moving on – to Jackson Springs, NC

11/5/14 Wednesday in Jackson Springs, NC (Sycamore Lodge-ROD)

We’ve been adventure free now on travel days for some time, so today that changed. Our door “jammed” just as I went outside to join John in saying goodbye to Karen/Jeff. So dear John had to crawl through his window, falling into his recliner, to open the door from the inside. He got it open, then proceeded to go through the process of setting it right. This time Karen and Jeff got to watch! I took advantage of this time to get online reservations at our timeshare condo (WorldMark) in Hawaii (Kauai) for December 2015. We let Karen/Jeff watch our process with getting our slides in as well. This time we left the jacks down (we’re really not supposed to) while putting them in, because we knew the gap was really tight before we’d put the jacks down when setting up. When they were in, I checked and sure enough, several Asian lady beetles were clustered inside by the front door. Not to mention the 5 stink bugs clinging just inside our wiper blade. Guess they were trying to say please don’t leave us! Thankfully nothing major happened during the rest of our “breakdown” jobs so we made it on the road before 10.

Nice cloudy day, not so cold. We took US 64 which was 2 lane most of the time, then I-73 S for the majority of our trip. Both were smooth roads, so all was good.

Upon our arrival at 11:30 am (love these short trips!), along Sycamore Lane (lined with Sycamores!), when we turned off for the campground we came upon a sort of small traffic circle with the sign giving an arrow to enter it to register at the General Store. Well, that looked too tight for a 40′ bus, let alone one towing a car. Knowing that once you make a tight turn, it’s REALLY difficult to unhook your toad (towed car) and you can’t go backwards to get out of the situation, John wisely turned left, avoiding that circle all together. We unhooked, then went into the office to register. Later we came back to that place to find out we misread the road. Just drive to the sign with an arrow, following the arrow’s direction.

lodge 2

As you continue to the left, you can see big rigs fit okay.

As you continue to the left, you can see big rigs fit okay.

If you turn right of the arrow, this is the tight circle we saw.

If you turn right of the arrow, this is the tight circle we saw.

That’s when we found out they choose your site. OK. The good: lovely evergreen woods, with few branches as low as your vehicle and lots of pine needles on the areas not driven on. I like pine needles instead of a foot of leaves. The ground is firm white sand, not unlike beach sand. Nice level roads. The sites seem pretty level, spacious and neat. We had plenty of space to put out our slides. Our water pressure is nice and strong. The power is strong as well, but the bad: just 30 amps. Not so bad when the weather isn’t extreme. Naturally all the trees means no satellite reception, but good local antenna reception. The Verizon reception is good enough. They offer WiFi (I think there is a charge). NO SEWER. Probably because we’re not members, just coming in under ROD. Bottom line, though, we both agree that this campground just feels better than Oaks at Yemassee in SC (TT). Hard to express: comfortable, clean, spacious, gentle, quiet woods. We’re seriously contemplating leaving for Oaks at Point South (TT) Monday though, because our friends Greg and Marcia will be at the Oaks then, plus we’ll have sewer there.

Once we got set up and had lunch we considered our next route then John worked on our door. He had an inspiration while driving. Sure enough, he now thinks we “set it off” by letting the door handle snap back after opening it out. So we’ll both try to watch that.

Off on a walk around the campground. Just a beautiful very well kept place. The bathrooms are separate tiled individual restrooms with a shower in each. Lovely landscaping around the rental cabins, though I didn’t get a photo of them this time, just a couple scenes via my phone.

lodge 1 lodge 1a

Nothing special for our evening. We did get confirmation from the Australian at the General Store on the best route to our next campground (The Oaks at Point South). Leftover Chicken a la King-still fabulously delicious. I got the special treat of Pecan Pie (leftover from our Statesville lunch), heated. Mmm Mmm good! Amazing how good the fish and this pie from that simple diner was. We finished off the night with “The CMA Awards”. We’d never watched the whole thing (recorded it before), so didn’t realize how entertaining Brad and Carrie were!

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in North Carolina. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

