Rainy Day Projects

11/6/14 Thursday in Jackson Springs, NC (Sycamore Lodge-ROD)

I worked on the blog and a health questionnaire for my insurance company. John got his drawer bracket replaced, then checked the air in a CRV tire. Our tire pressure monitor had been giving a low reading on that tire, but it was actually just fine. I got my clock radio manual out to find out how to set the time. During that time John simply figured it out and reset the time. Oh well, now I have a copy of the instructions for when I need to reset it. Then I hammered the staples down under the bottom of our dining chairs. What with all this effort the second day in a row over this door, I made a phone call to Alliance in Florida for an appointment to repair our door handle. Unfortunately, I had to go outside to get better phone reception and shut the door. Guess what. It wouldn’t open. Thus John got working at it but thought he’d found another reason for our problem but in his efforts he pulled a rod out of a tight space and struggled to get it back in. By 1 pm (yes, we were both starving at this point) he got it back together and says he thinks he’s got it solved. Crossing our fingers.

Since we are scheduled to be at Alliance on 11/16, we decided to leave for the Oaks tomorrow. It’s also supposed to get really cold starting tomorrow so we like the idea of also getting further southeast (near the coast) at this point as well.

Good, fattening, sustaining hot dogs (the last) for lunch then off for our walk. This time I got some images of the campground before we go. We had a good time talking with a couple who’d stopped while John was working on the door near the end of our walk. Then it started raining. By 3 pm it was a good pour. We left our door open while on our walk and even when we were back. No sense tempting fate.

lodge 5 lodge 6 lodge 7

The rain stopped by suppertime. Nothing special to report, except that we’re moving on to The Oaks at Yemassee, SC tomorrow.

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in New Mexico. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

