Moving on – to Yemassee, SC

11/7/14 Friday in Yemassee, SC (The Oaks at Point South-TT/MA)

Between wanting to head south ahead of the cold/arctic blast headed our way and needing to get to Florida for our door service appointment, we’ve sped up our travels south. As we pulled up jacks and brought in slides I found only 1 stink bug near the wiper blade. I think he’s the one that got away from me the last time we took off. Crossing fingers we didn’t bring any more on our way south.

The sweet Australian at the office at Sycamore assured us that the path our GPS lined up was a good one. There was a fair amount of two lane roads before we got to I-95, but they had little traffic, few towns/lights and were in good shape, so that was an okay experience. We did have a couple adventures though. In the town of Cheraw John chose to follow the truck route signs, based on what our Australian had said. I thought he was following his Rand McNally GPS. I could tell he was NOT following MY route, though, and was concerned his GPS was leading onto some dirt road situation, so I kept insisting that he turn right, to get back to the road we needed to follow. After a while I realized I sounded JUST like the GPS when we’ve ignored her instructions-repeatedly requesting that we turn to get back to her route. Funny! At that point I could also tell that the road we were on would get us back on track and John’s route had steered us around the town. Once again, John was right!!

Another adventure was at the Pilot station. It was located on the left, right before our entrance onto I-95. The problem was that we entered it where all sorts of trucks were exiting. No problem, we figured, we’d need to exit at that point as well to get onto our freeway entrance. Soon we saw an issue: the pumps were set for trucks coming off the freeway-so we were blocking everyone as we tried to get to the right side of the pumps. As John was sitting there thinking we needed to just wait until the pump near us cleared we heard a truck horn. I saw the driver pointing and mentioned it to John. Still not sure where we could go and not get into troubles (need to back up or make a tight turn), he drove ahead. A blessing came our way!!!! There was an open pump at a place where John could (barely) get around the trucks nearby and pull up to the pump. Whew!!!! Fuel is wonderfully cheaper, because the prices have gone down and because SC has low fuel taxes: $3.389/gal for diesel.

The rest of our trip was now just going S on I-95. Sweet. We stopped for a lunch and exercise break before noon. Did you know that Pepsi originated in the Carolinas? Can you find John and I in the reflection? He didn’t know I “got him” in this photo.

pepsi

We arrived around 1, set up in site #82 (chosen by the ranger). Wow, did we luck out. The ranger, who has been here for years, said she as never seen it this full. This is a small campground where the RVs are stacked tightly among the trees but we got a very good spot. This site is long enough (all are pull through here) with FHU (full hook ups), including free 50 amps-good; strength, not great. It’s level enough that we have both sides out. We are in deep woods (oak trees), even get to face woods (no RV’s), yet we’re getting satellite reception (DISH-SD (Standard Definition) not HD (High Definition). On top of all that, we’re facing North! Cable and WiFi available for a price. Cell phone (Verizon) reception is iffy. All the sites are spaced very close together, and the roads are narrow, so it feels crowded.

As we settled in we discovered each of us had made small mistakes: I’d forgotten to turn off the radio in the CRV, thus it discharged the battery as we traveled. Thanks to our good battery and John running the engine when we stopped for lunch, the battery was fine when we landed here. John had gone potty at that last stop but forgotten to turn off the water pump. Nothing serious resulted, it’s just not good for the pump to keep up pressure as we “yahoo” down the rolling bumps of I-95.

This campground is near a lot of great places, including Beaufort, Charleston and Savannah. On Fridays Ray sets up $7 BBQ of pulled pork or chicken. Great tasting, right here at the lodge. We had it last year when we were here.

We took a walk around our little campground, orienting ourselves, then returned to relax and wait for our friends Greg and Marcia. We got to talking about dinner and realized we’d planned to get milk today, since we were out. Just as we were exiting outside the campground, we met Greg/Marcia as they were coming in.

When we got back we contacted them only to find out their first site had city water issues, so they were in the process of moving. Tough break after a really long day of travel. We then had our last Chicken a la King leftover supper and watched TV.

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in South Carolina and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

