Black Friday and Glasses

11/28/14 Friday in Wildwood,FL (Three Flags-TT/MA)

John and I are not shoppers by nature, so we’ve avoided the Black Friday struggle (except for a couple times when we thought we’d at least give it a try). Today we ventured out even though we were sure to run in to lots of traffic. To be honest, we were happy to note that the traffic we met wasn’t all that bad.

First piece of business: get to Costco (57 miles away) to get my glasses repaired. They did a great job (free)! How glorious to see clearly again! As they were replacing the mono-filament (fishing line) element that had broken, we looked around and found tennis shoes for me! We’ve been looking at any Costco we’ve been to for about a year and finally, we found some. Yay! We completed our Costco visit with their cheap yet yummy lunch: combo pizza slice for me and hot dog with fixings and pop for John ($3.70 total). You don’t have to be a Costco member to buy their snack/lunch items available as you walk in.

To make our long trip efficient we stopped at Independence RV to measure the basement storage area in their 2014 (leftover) Newmar Ventana 3812. While he was at it, John measured the same in the Ventana LE 3433. Our salesman was off today, but another assisted us, even inviting John to drive the 3433. So he did. It was great, even driving on the Turnpike. Great turning radius too (they call it a 55 degree wheel cut).

Finally, we headed for the Orlando TT campground (in Clermont) to check out the rigs they have for sale (thru LaMesa RV). None really fit our parameters. We had a great time looking, though, because our friend Greg joined us in our search. He is camping there now.

It was getting dark and closer to supper time, so we headed home. Wonderful fish dinner with the special treat of pumpkin pie for desert. But wait, there’s more! Our Spokane Gonzaga basketball team was playing St. John’s for the NIT Championship. What a great game-close the whole time. Gonzaga managed to get 15 points ahead once, but St. John’s crawled back to be under by only 3 points at seconds before the end. We pulled it off, though, 66-73. Great end to a fun day.

A peak at the other pond created by our big rain the other day:

pond 2

 

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in Florida. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

