Resting Up Still

1/10/15 Saturday in Wauchula,FL (Peace River Preserve-TT)

It was so cold outside and warm and cozy inside our covers that we really slept in – until 8:30 am. Maybe it was because it was the weekend? Not really.

I washed the sheets at the campground washing machines to save on what goes into our gray tank, then did Internet research: how to get rust off RV steps and how to cook using cinnamon sticks. Did you know there is a product that changes rust into metal? That was news to me! Did you realize you can grate the cinnamon sticks, then pound that into a fine powder? That’s largely what I learned after lots of looking.

Our steps after John sanded them.

Our steps after John sanded them.

More baking this afternoon: pumpkin muffins. Then we watched Indiana Jones movies until time for Mass (5 pm). After Mass we had a lovely time at the church chili supper. I ate way too much chili, cornbread and brownie. When we got back to our rig I needed to walk a while. John joined me. That black sky, filled with stars was just gorgeous. We should do that more often. The Seahawks game started at 8:30 pm, so John taped it and I got to watch tapes of my shows (Mad Men) until bedtime.

Guess we’re still resting up after all that purchasing a new home entails.

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in Florida and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

