John Plays Golf With Sherie. How is Miss Journey More Comfortable Than Miss Zanzibar

1/21/15 Wednesday in Wauchula,FL (Peace River Preserve-TT)

We had a great time visiting with John’s cousins, Nancy and Lynn Monday and Tuesday.

nancy

Today John enjoyed playing 18 holes of golf with our friend, Sherie. Meanwhile I had a wonderful quiet day watching my DVR tapes, as well as computer business: reading emails, blogs and researching. He got home just an hour before supper time. I had fun making shrimp stir fry, using my bok choy.

My cousin Judy asked how Miss Journey is more comfortable than Miss Zanzibar. This is my reply:

While driving, Miss Journey is much quieter, smoother and feels tight.  This makes me feel safer, more comfortable over all.  She also does better concerning our water: it’s hotter as well as rather instant at “my” sink”. The water pressure in the shower is greater-part shower head and something about the plumbing-even though the water pressure isn’t so great here at Peace River, it’s great in our rig.

It’s more comfortable in the case of heat and cold. The heat pump gets it warm faster and the air conditioner (same machine) is also faster. Less seems to escape as in Miss Zanzibar.

We are at a 30 amp site. When we’re using more than the shore pedestal can handle, the energy management system seamlessly enlists the battery’s aid, through the inverter. If we’re not standing at the indicators we’d never know it. That’s actually kind of dangerous because it could drain our battery before we realized. On the other hand we have a great answer to that problem: auto gen set. When set, the generator knows when the battery is too low (at 11.8 amps) and will start up, becoming our power source and charging up the battery.

In fact, the other morning we’d just set the ‘auto gen set’ a couple days earlier. John had set it to automatically come on whenever our battery got low, except from 10 pm until 7 am (quiet hours). That morning we’d set the small electric heater to come on around 6 am, so it would be warm when we got up, around 7. Well, suddenly, at 7 am, the generator came on. Hmm. Sure enough, the indicators said we had no shore power. Upon further investigation John discovered that our pedestal and some others had no power. Thank heavens we had that working for us then!

Storage: everything we had in the Zanzibar (except for a couple bins) fits! Especially in the kitchen, the places are far more convenient. One major improvement: there is space under the kitchen sink for a wastebasket. One small negative: our ceiling is higher (it’s also thicker-that’s a good thing), so we need a stool to get to some things like the lights. The fan too, except we can get it open/on via a toggle switch.

Our bed is the perfect height here. It was low for John and high for me in the Zanzibar. I almost leaped to get into bed!). We have wide access on both sides, with nice wide end tables for each of us.

Last but not least, the TV’s. There are 4 in this coach, 2 in Miss Zanzibar. The other day John thoroughly enjoyed watching the Championship football game outside, then grilling as he watched on his outdoor TV. When he’d come inside he could continue watching. Great comfort for a guy who loves TV.

In short, it feels more like home.

One thing we do miss about Miss Zanzibar: the SeeLevel which shows your fresh/gray/black tank levels no matter what slug may have built up in your tanks.

A view of Miss Journey you may not have seen before:
Journey 2

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in Florida. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

