Sofa Covers, Carpet on Steps and TV Antenna vs Galley Lights

2/4/15 Wednesday in Clermont, FL (Orlando Preserve-TT)

Hard to believe how your morning gets affected by sleeping. Now you may wonder, how can sleeping in matter when you don’t have to go to work? Well, it has to do with what you want to get accomplished. My normal routine includes meditation for 20 minutes, exercise for about 10 minutes, washing breakfast dishes and writing the previous day’s blog. By getting up at 8 am, I couldn’t manage the blog or dishes before I needed to go to line dancing. As soon as I returned we went grocery shopping-no milk for lunch. Thus we had a late lunch (hard to shop when you’re hungry), then I washed dishes and finished the blog. I know, retired life can be so hard.

For projects, John cleaned our jacks and I cut carpet, applying it with velcro onto the steps. We did this on Miss Zanzibar and really loved it. This carpet is from Tony St. Peter at 702-454-0668. It has real rubber at the back, so water won’t leak through to the steps (causing rust). Real rubber also won’t make your carpet underneath (where I have another such carpet under our dining table) dirty/stained. You can cut it with normal scissors (these steps were covered with one carpet). We met Tony at an FMCA rally, where we learned how well made these carpets are and that using bungee cords and the like on RV steps can be a strain for the step mechanism that’s not built for that height on each step.

steps

Emboldened with my success, I told John to let me put the cover on his sofa (from Walmart). It wasn’t easy, but I’m sticking with it.

My sofa

My sofa

 

John's sofa

John’s sofa

Before long, it was time (5 pm) for John’s favorite TV show: Emergency (seen on MeTV). A little history: MeTV is usually on the local TV antenna, so he resets from the satellite to the local antenna. Sadly, the last 2 days (Monday & Tuesday) when the time for his show came up, the local antenna just dropped off (weak signal). Hmmm. So today he got everything working on the outside TV well before 5 pm (I got to watch “Downton Abby” on the satellite antenna inside). It stayed on just fine past 5 pm. Inside he then changed the antenna to local and it was still fine. Then he turned on the kitchen lights and went to the bathroom. When he came out, the message once again was “weak signal” (no picture). Hmmm. He remembered the kitchen/galley light and turned it off. Voila! Our local TV came on. More testing. Sure enough, when the galley lights are on, the local TV antenna drops with “weak/no signal”. It has been getting dark around 5 pm and we need to get dinner going then so naturally that was when we’d turn that light on. Just when his favorite show comes on. Figuring that out really made his day!

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in Florida and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

