Animal Kingdom and Epcot at Walt Disney World in the Rain

2/9/15 Monday in Clermont, FL (Orlando Preserve-TT)

Tim and Renee were ready before 8:30 am, so we were on the highway by then. We are the first people to get to use their guest passes. Lots of rain was predicted for the afternoon but we were hopeful it wouldn’t be THAT bad. We parked at Port Orleans/French Quarter (a Disney Resort). The truck in front of us is Tim/Renee guiding us there. Apparently parking in the Epcot parking lot is like miles of walking from the entrance. From any Disney Resort you can take their Disney buses to the area you want to enjoy.

To get into our first area, we needed to touch our Disney Guest Pass plastic card to the first “mouse” until it turns green. Then you need to place a finger on the finger pad, until it turns green. So cool!

The Animal Kingdom was our destination for the morning. I’m sure you’ll recognize most of the animals.

Wildebeest

disney 11 disney 12

Baobab tree, called the upside down treedisney 13

disney 14 disney 15 disney 16 disney 17

Colobus Monkey. It sleeps during the day.disney 18

Okapi, with similar to the Giraffe.  They are very shy, that’s why it took a long time to discover themdisney 19

African Jacanadisney 20

Taveta Golden Weaverdisney 21

disney 22

Can you find the Hippopotamus?  Look under the large striped fish.disney 23

disney 24

Meerkatdisney 25

 

Roseate Spoonbill

Tree of Life-how many animals can you find carved into this tree? disney 30

Before we left the Animal Kingdom we found the cutest stuffed tigers. John and I wanted to put them in Miss Journey so she’ll carry on the tiger tradition from our Miss Zanzibar.

Time for lunch. We took the bus to Epcot, then had quite a walk to France and a lovely lunch there. By now it was really raining, so I took few photos. We explored more of the countries there then enjoyed a yummy treat (John & I had ice cream bars). Next up: a great ride (using the Fast Pass) on “Soarin‘”. We sat in our “airplane” seats that lifted off, then saw marvelous IMAX type images as we soared aloft in the sky, over mountains, surfers, skiers, gliders. The best ride of the day! Unfortunately, as we left that ride John realized that he was missing his “floppy” hat. After much searching and appeals to their lost and found, we gave up and purchased a nice Walt Disney floppy hat for John.

Our friends Renee and Tim had to leave then, their dogs needed relief. John and I then took a ride on Spaceship Earth. Nice quiet history ride.

disney 32

We had an hour before supper, so we made reservations at a German restaurant. They explained that if we didn’t appear for our reservation, then our credit card would be charged $10 for each of us. So we meandered through a few countries until we got to the restaurant in time. We were rather shocked at the price for dinner (a buffet). Guess we’re not so used to eating out with entertainment. The food was very good and the German band was fun. We got to sit at a table for 8, so had a good time sharing with them. We walked out about 7 pm. That meant it would be another 2 hours before the light show over the lagoon there. Our friends had said this was really worth staying for, but John was not thrilled with the thought of hanging around another 2 hours just to see these fireworks/laser show, especially since it was still raining. I was fine with going home too. What with walking back to the transit center, waiting for our bus….it was after 8:30 pm when we got home. One memorable day!

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in Florida and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

