Winnebago Owner Relations

2/11/15 Wednesday in Clermont, FL (Orlando Preserve-TT)

When the batteries dropped to 11.4 amps, our generator came on. Yes! How fortunate we are to have a coach that so easily handles power issues. We had the heat we needed, water via our water pump (we keep our fresh water tank at 1/3 just for this sort of situation. A power outage for a good coach is very survivable, far easier than in a home.

Line dancing – I was wondering whether they’d have class. Good news, they had enough power to play the music but ¾ of the park was still out of power and water then (10 am). I found out that the water pressure had dropped off because it comes from a well, served by a pump.

Our power came back by 1130 am. It took a while longer for the water and even then you needed to boil any water you wanted to drink. We chose to continue using our own water from the Fresh Water tank.

Our neighbor (Tim) didn’t sleep last night because he didn’t have a generator and needed the help of a CPAP machine. So we didn’t see him until evening. He’d spent the afternoon trying to catch up on his sleep.

I spent that time tackling a couple to do list items; calling Winnebago Owner Relations (800-537-1885) and later visiting the Verizon store. We were treated to an immediate pick up of our phone call and great, patient help with our questions regarding slides and levelers (you can move levelers when the slides are out, but best to have the engine running whenever you move those slides). He even gave a patient explanation of where to find the leveler sensors underneath the front of our rig and how to adjust them, so the “auto level” will actually get the coach truly level. He explained how to get our thermostat to heat within a couple degrees of the set temperature point: unplug it from all power, then resume the power/plug it back in. This is also where we learned that parts are ordered via Winnebago Dealers, not direct from Winnebago.

A young man at the Verizon Store solved all my ongoing issues with my phone except for one photo album that freezes when I get into it. He explained that they are just salespeople at the stores (figuring answers out by pushing buttons) so the really technical issues are best addressed by the “geeks” at Verizon. Nice to know. I’ll call them another day (low priority).

What with all these great solutions and the warmth in our rig, I took a delicious nap. John enjoyed his computer and old TV shows.

Because of the power outage last night we’d decided to crock pot some chili (little power draw), so we enjoyed that simple supper. I had my last corn muffin.

Goodby Orlando Preserve. We’re off to Wildwood (north) tomorrow.orlando

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in Florida and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

