Dryer and Fridge News

2/18/15 Ash Wednesday in Wildwood, FL (Three Flags RV Resort-TT/MA)

It rained all night. No leaks in our closet. By the morning we the had an opposite kind of day: pure blue sky (no clouds) and cold (high 60ish). John got our ladder out and found that the water had settled on top of the closet slide (under the topper), but because we weren’t quite level, it was pooling away from the spot that Ed (Alliance tech) discovered as the cause of our leak.

We went to 10 am Mass. I so enjoy their music. I think that’s half of why I go. Still not able to sing, protecting my sore throat.

Lunch came late (around 1:30 pm) because we waited for our friends Betty/Denny to arrive for their visit. We all enjoyed our “bag” lunches and then the appliance guy, Aaron from DeSANTIS Appliance & Air Conditioning (mobile repair) arrived. I went outside to greet him only to find out his first visit is for our next door neighbor (in a Winnebago Adventurer). All the better, that gave us more time to visit. Not only that, since Betty/Denny have an Adventurer themselves, Denny went out to watch/learn all about the air conditioner/heat pump that Aaron was repairing. When he came over to our rig, at our entry door I started explaining what was happening with our fridge. He replied asking if it was a Maytag French door style? Right on! Not only did he know what was causing the ice in our freezer, he knew how to stop it from happening again. He’ll apply a copper wire to the lower part of our drain tube that will keep it warm, thus not letting the ice form that would clog it. On to the dryer. As soon as I turned it on he recognized that it was not making a normal sound, then said it was bad bearings. I didn’t even suggest that!!! And that’s not all! He knows how to keep them from going bad for a very long time….he drowns them in lots of 5W30 motor oil. Amazing. He shared a story about one customer whose noise was twice as bad as mine who, after learning the estimate ($300), decided to live with it and just leave the coach when they would dry. We started out doing that but it sure is a pain.

We talked about getting a Whirlpool in place of the Splendide, but besides our having to carry the cost (the warranty would just pay for repairs), we’d have to ask Lowe’s/Home Depot to order it for us. On top of that it would be more installations efforts (translation: cost) to attach a different brand to the washer. Plus he felt a matching set (washer/dryer) would do a lot better. So he sold me. The bad news, he has to order the new motor. He said it would come from Washington State, so it could take a week. Hmm. We’d have to shift our current plans but getting this noise fixed is well worth it. He emailed his diagnosis to Lori (our service advisor) and she’ll be sending the information to our extended warranty.

During this time Betty/Denny had to move on – to other commitments. We had such a great time showing off Miss Journey and sharing ideas. They’re coming to Washington next summer too so we hope to get together then and gave them tips on things to do/see.

This was such a fun day, I hardly thought about my stupid sore throat.

Needless to say, if you are in the Wildwood, FL area and need appliance/air conditioner repairs I highly recommend DeSANTIS.

desantis

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in Florida and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

