Moving on – to Robert, LA in the RAIN

3/12/15 Thursday in Robert, LA (Passport To Leisure-RPI ($11/night))

Bummer, rain. John hurried with his outside jobs so we could get the slides in before it got heavy and he made it. Thus everything was on a faster track. I love when he decides not to turn on the TV and so not get distracted by it. We pulled out by 8:30, before any significant rain. The fog was insignificant for most of the trip as well. Our time through Mobile (got there at 9) was just fine. Even going through the tunnel there was easy with moderate traffic. We were warned that there were often accidents there which meant long hold ups.

tunnel

Mississippi sign through the rainy windshield:

ms

This freeway (I-10) has been smooth through Florida, Alabama, Mississippi.

One minor bummer: the dash I-pod system worked for a while, then disconnected so we found radio stations on our route. It’s nice that our “Entertainment Center” lets us know what kind of music is played on each station.

Louisiana sign-even more rain.   Then a glimpse of Louisiana’s many bridges.LA

LA 1

I was dreading “beat you up” Louisiana, but thankfully (except for bridges) I-12 (North of New Orleans) was smooth.

The rain had abated enough for us to get set up before it got started again. This is our first time at a Yogi Jellystone Campground. Cute decorations and activities for kids. It’s also called Passport to Leisure. That looks like the part dedicated to adults. They have 7 pools! I figure their popular time is summer and it’s really hot here then.

I started the afternoon treating myself to a short nap but soon got going on the computer, then phone at making arrangements for our trip to Hawaii at the end of this year. That took the rest afternoon easy. In fact John was starting supper while I was still trying to wrap things up!

We enjoyed a lovely walk around the campground after supper, even visiting awhile with a fellow camper using RPI.  They left Florida today, will be moving on tomorrow for Texas.

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in Alabama, Louisiana, Mississippi. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

