Moving on – to Beaumont, TX

3/16/15 Monday in Beaumont, TX (Gulf Coast RV Resort-PPA ($40/night))

Some troubles getting the jacks up again-over 11 minutes so John set them down and up again. It took a long time, but they did get up eventually. The temperature was a balmy 57 degrees so that wasn’t the issue. Maybe low voltage. We’d cleaned them rather recently, although it’s been really wet and humid since. We just read in the manual that you shouldn’t clean them-just knock of caked on mud. I’m just glad they made it up. So we were on our way by 8 am for our very long trip (246 miles).

The good news: our dash I-pod is working!

Near the end of I-12, then on I-10 we were back to the “beat you up Louisiana” roads: constant expansion slots except for on the long, long bridges. At Baton Rouge we crossed the great Mississippi River. Further west, after Lafayette, the roads improved.

Louisiana bridgesla 1 la 2 la 3

At the Texas Welcome Center we happened to park next to a brand new ARMY Fire Truck being transported, I think.  The Welcome has a nature trail behind it  too.

tx 1 tx 1a tx 2

Alligator Snapping Turtle.  Looks prehistoric, doesn’t it?  Well it’s here in Texas!  It’s known as “the turtle that fishes without a pole.”  “Their mouths are grey except for a bright pink fleshy filament that looks like a small worm.”

tx 3

 

Here are 2 different alligators we saw on their nature trail.  About medium size.

tx 4 tx 5

 

 

As soon as we arrived (office closed) I started house cleaning. It needed it and another RV had said she cleaned when they arrived at a new location. It does help because you don’t have your “stuff” out then. While I worked hard at that, I encouraged John to stay outside, even clean the bugs from our windshield. He had a good time sharing with a neighbor as he hooked up power, water, sewer, then got our windshield sparkling. We dashed to the office to get registered. It’s $40/night here. We claimed 2 nights as PPA (limit) so they cost $40. The next 2 night we claimed under Good Sam, so 10% off: $72 for those 2 nights. Wow, $112. That was a shock. As we were checking in John saw our glass repair guy at another rig. I’d been communicating with our Insurance company on the way, then the glass repair company called when I was just getting the cleaning started. He had another scheduled at this park this afternoon, so he said he could come then. I said okay. So wouldn’t you know, he was at our rig by the time I got back from the office. I had to print an email invoice to sign. He was finished by the time I was. Wow!! So much accomplished in one day: 246 mile trip, house cleaned, windshield cleaned (thank heavens he got it done in time), rock chip repaired.

When he left all I wanted was a tall cool drink of ice water and to rest in a recliner. Ah. Supper was leftover sauerkraut so easy to fix and clean up. Fun TV was our fare for the evening.

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in Louisiana, Texas and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

