Rainy Day Project: Creating a Watercolor Blog in WordPress

3/21/15 Saturday in Columbus, TX (Colorado River-TT)

It poured all night long. I still love the sound of rain. It rained on and off all day today, so it was definitely an inside day.

I got an ugly surprise before breakfast: the freezer had accumulated fluffy piles of frost and hard spots of ice. This stuff is harder clean out from a French door (on the bottom) freezer than a regular one. I’d just cleaned this frost out 3 days ago. Need I mention how much I dislike this style of fridge! We’re working on an appointment with a repairman when we get to Lake Whitney in April. Hope my patience lasts that long.

After our normal routine we went to the Manager’s Meeting, in the rain. We walked figuring it was light rain and umbrellas would do. We took a short cut trail and came upon a small herd of deer. So sweet, perking up their ears and watching us. They started to turn away just when our path turned, so then they relaxed. You could say we had a private meeting with the manager, we were the only campers there! We learned a lot about running a TT campground. His camper nights have improved each of the 5 years he’s been here. He also reads the Facebook page, Thousand Trails/Outdoor World, The Good, The Bad and The Ugly. He said Managers are not supposed to post on it, but I guess it’s okay to say things about their own campground, like we are having a party or other announcements. They are not to respond to remarks on the page. Our walk back to Miss Journey was in a lot of rain. Even though we used umbrellas our shoes and jeans got pretty wet as we walked in the heavy rain. I felt like a school kid, getting home to tell mom I’m all wet! We went ahead washing our jeans, since we needed to dry them anyway.

This is a lovely park, well maintained and very spacious. Beautiful entrance road that we learned was just installed a couple weeks before we arrived, just before the major rains. It sure has held up well. I love our site (A-10), with tall pampas grasses and mourning birds building a nest on one side. The other side is of some bushes and a meadow where I remember the wild deer often graze. There are sites near the clubhouse, FHU and non-sewered sites, good power and water (plus satellite and cell phone reception). Those with 50 amps cost an extra $3/night. Ours has a concrete patio with picnic table and good layer of gravel where we park. Many more spacious sites are down by the Colorado River, among lots of pecan trees.

site 1 site 2 site 3

I spent the afternoon creating a new blog site of my watercolor paintings. John enjoyed his old TV shows and golf. He remembered to make our potluck bean dish just in time to get them ready.

We had a great time at the potluck of only 5 couples, getting to sit with our neighbors Roger and Sandy. Immediately after the dinner we played a new (for us) kind of bingo. A deck of cards (minus jokers) is distributed among the 4 players at a table (13 each). Each organizes them face up. Then the “caller” calls out a card name, say 3 of hearts. Whoever has that card puts it in the center of the table. Each continues until the first person to have one card remaining gives a warning knock on the table. When someone has no cards left before them, they call out “Bingo”.

We 4 left the clubhouse via our CRV, because it was raining hard, still, and we had lots of dishes to carry. Roger and Sandy our new friends’ car battery had died.

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in Texas. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

