Power Surge Difficulties, Fort Worth, Dallas

4/4/15 Saturday in Whitney, TX (Lake Whitney-TT)

A little history: Our first power surge was April 1st at 8:30 pm. It really threw us for a loop-didn’t realize what had happened for a while. Then next was April 2nd at 10:30 pm. No biggee, we were tucked in bed and using very little power. On April 3rd things started heating up. We lost power (surge protector cutting off our power because of surging) in the morning a few times. Then again that night at 9:30. Hmm. During the day I figured we needed to say something but then other thoughts jumped into my head. At night I figured who was around to help. Then more surges later that night. Now this morning our power was cut off (by the surge protector) several times. I realized it was about time to tell management, so I walked to the clubhouse to let them know. On the way John texted that it had gone out again. Our system brings us back up when it’s good. It went out 2 more times before the maintenance guy arrived. Sheesh. Lesson: tell management the FIRST time!

I hadn’t realized, but Fort Worth and Dallas are like conjoined twins, they flow one to the other. Richard (neighbor) says that Fort Worth (at the Stockyards I think) is pure cowboy with many wearing their spurs and open carry guns. Billy Bob’s is the largest rodeo in the country. They sponsor a small (14?) longhorn cattle drive through town once each morning and afternoon. What we saw was their Water Gardens, then some lovely buildings (even cool security cops) along the way to a great Korean Restaurant, Hoya:

water garden water garden 1 water garden 2 water garden 3

building 2 building 3 building 4 building 5 building 5a building 6

Kennedy even stayed at a hotel here in Fort Worth, so they have a lovely memorial nearby:

deally

This lunch was SO delicious and so filling that I wasn’t hungry even when we got home at 9pm. John just got hungry then. It reminded us of Mongolian Grill dishes.

lunch

Next up: we got tickets for transportation in the Dallas/Fort Worth area. It’s amazing. First, parking near the transportation hub was FREE. Our tickets (65+) were $2.50 EACH.  Unfortunately, they are $10 each if under 65.  These tickets were good for all transportation all day, including the TRE (train), DART (light rail) and buses. Plus, no one ever asked to see our tickets (I think they do on the buses).  Of course they tell you that if caught without payment, you are charged with a misdemeanor ($500 fine).  The other passengers were SO polite, offering to give up their seats as were were searching for 4 together. We had such a fun time visiting with one of the train police. We’re so glad that Richard made a point of letting us experience both the TRE and the DART ways of traveling.

Transportation: TRE (Trinity Railway Express) DART (yellow light rail, above ground and below ground).  When we got off the DART at Citycenter, there were TWO escalators to get up to the ground level.  I just showed you one of them.transportation 1 transportation 2 transportation 2b transportation 3 transportation 3a transportation 4

In Dallas we first visited the Dealey Plaza: The corner where the car first turned right, the next corner where it turned left. In this second image you see a view of the Book Depository building. Oswald was on the 6th floor, at the right corner. Then there is the Grassy Knoll where to the right of the street lamp is an X in the street where President Kennedy was shot. Unfortunately, the X didn’t show in my photo.

deally 2 deally 3 deally 4

Then we wandered all over Dallas, getting fun shots of the buildings.

building 7 building 8 building 9 building 10

The sun was going down by now, so we checked when the last train was leaving: 8:50. BUT another left at 6:50 pm. We were in downtown Dallas at 6:10, caught the DART at 6:13, then Richard notes that the train leaves at 6:20. I was nervous, he was calm. Sure enough, we got to the Union Station and were on that train (TRE) by 6:20. It didn’t leave until 6:50. The program was a bit confusing to read. We had a little fun on our way to our parking spot (Jeannie is on the left, Richard on the left):

fun

Jeannie’s hat at the bottom, then mine, then Richard’s, then my sunglasses and Jeannie’s glasses, then her electric cigarette.

Once in Richard’s truck on the highway, it started to rain, then lots of lightening and a lovely orange moon right on the horizon. Great fun (for those of us not driving).

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in Texas and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

