Goodby Lake Whitney Campground, Thank You Randy

4/6/15 Monday in Whitney, TX (Lake Whitney-TT)

Much better sleep last night for both of us, so we feel more energetic. I got my blog days posted, then did light housekeeping. Oh yes, I forgot to mention that yesterday I went to our bathroom only to discover the floor covered with water. Hmm. No water in the shower, yup, the gray tank was not full. Ah, the toilet was full of water. Must have happened when the last person flushed the toilet, the bar we step on to flush didn’t come all the way back when finished. You can fill the toilet by pushing down a little on that bar. So I got to clean it up and we wrung out our bathroom rug, setting a fan in the room.

The campground maintenance man, Randy, who had worked on our pedestal this morning worked on Richard’s and Jinhiee’s (Jeannie for us Americans). They got new circuit breakers. The great news is that helping them helped us – we didn’t experience any more power surges from then on! We also found out from Progressive Industries (maker of our built in surge protector) that it’s supposed to “add” 5 volts to what it reads from the pedestal. That’s because they’ve found that the higher voltages allowed (127-129) have been found to be harmful to the appliances in RVs.

It was such a lovely day that, along with “supervising” Randy, we all ended up having a good time in a campfire circle until Richard had to leave and John and I needed to make our lunch. For the afternoon we came back to enjoy our wonderful woods/nature, reading. Later I took a small nap while John looked into future camping plans. He also went to the clubhouse to ask about the Silverleaf package due by today. “Nothing”, he was told. “Check back later.”

We had our Easter supper (not up for it yesterday) of deviled eggs and grilled pork chops. Very tasty.

For an evening finale we watched the Duke vs Wisconsin NCAA basketball game. You may recall that Duke beat Gonzaga, so it felt fair that Duke came out as the #1 NCAA Tournament team. Gonzaga seems to come up against the eventual NCAA winner so many times.

Spring flowers Indian Paintbrush and Blue Bonnet) at Lake Whitney say goodby. We’re going through Fort Worth on our trip North for Oklahoma tomorrow.

flowers 2 flowers 3

 

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in Texas and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Goodby Lake Whitney Campground, Thank You Randy

Leave a Reply

