Sedona, Tlaquepaque Arts and Crafts and Chapel of the Holy Cross

4/25/15 Saturday in Cottonwood, AZ (Verde Valley-TT)

Slept well last night. Hallelujah. After our routine business was finished I texted Lynn and my cousin’s wife, Roni that we would be in Sedona today, were they there? She replied that she and Mark (our cousin) were, but had guests. After some back and forth she generously invited all 4 of us to their place for dinner. They had guests, so it would be a large group of 8.

Lynn/Gene left Flagstaff around 11 am, so that’s when we left Verde Valley. We both managed to arrive at Tlaquepaque Arts and Crafts in Sedona (Roni’s suggestion) around the same time, although John and I had found a parking spot but Lynn/Gene couldn’t quite find it. Unfortunately it was raining and very crowded, so we decided this wouldn’t work. We drove to where they were parked, then they followed us to a Safeway south of town that John had spotted on our way. In that strip mall there was also a Deli so we very happily enjoyed delicious lunches there, then picked up our contributions for the dinner at Safeway (appetizers of cheese and crackers and dessert of Boston Cream Pie). Now that we were fed and ready for our dinner later, what to do? We thought we could look for a parking spot (for both cars), then go on to our rig near Cottonwood in one car. With John leading, I spotted the turnout for Chapel of the Holy Cross and asked that we pull in there. Unfortunately it was also very crowded. We figured we might as well enjoy it while we were there. Beautiful place, set in the rock. Gorgeous views from there. If you look carefully you can see John and Lynn near the center of the second image.

chapel 1 chapel 2 chapel 3 chapel 4 chapel 5

We’d noticed “Open Studio” signs on the way, so Lynn and I prevailed in requesting that we stop for a quick look. At about this time we decided it would be better not to try to drive down to our rig, but to visit these Studios until time for our dinner. We found another scenic turnout that had parking space, leaving our car there and traveling on to the studios in Lynn/Gene’s car. Us gals had a lovely time seeing others’ work and sharing with them while the guys managed to be patient.

Finally, it was time to go to Mark/Roni’s home for our supper! What a fabulous time we all had. The view from Mark/Roni’s new home was incredible. They made such a great decision to settle here. We had a great time getting to know Michele/Tony as well as hear fun “family” stories from Mark and Roni! The food was melt in your mouth fabulous. Michele and Tony even did a lot to get it all ready. Perfect end to a rather long day. By the way, Mark said that they are on the other side of the mountain from where the Chapel of the Holy Cross is. In fact, he said that there is a great 5 mile loop trail that goes to the chapel and back.

Our day wasn’t quite over. We had to say good by to Mark/Roni and their friends. Now was the time to say goodby to Lynn and Gene since they would be driving in the dark and rain to Flagstaff as we drove to Cottonwood/Camp Verde. We all got home safely, exhausted. John and I were glad to just go straight to bed at 9:30.

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in Arizona and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

