Tuzigoot National Monument, Jerome, Nelly Bly’s, Prescott

4/29/15 Wednesday in Cottonwood, AZ (Verde Valley-TT)

On our way by 8:45am, since there would be a lot of driving today. First to Tuzigoot National Monument. The first building image is of a model. Then what we saw at the top and as we went down. It was created as a National Monument in 1932 by FDR. Many unemployed in the area were given jobs to clean up the rubble pile it was at the time, then build short walls atop the foundations as they found them. Working in sacred ground was difficult for the Apaches but their need for jobs was greater. As with the Castle, here they left the level land near water available for farming.

tuz 1 tuz 2 tuz 3 tuz 4 tuz 5 tuz 6 tuz 7

Interestingly, the name was suggested by a Tonto Apache on the excavation site: Tu zighoot (pronounced as TWO-see-WHOODT), meaning “crooked water.” Unfortunately, the American archeologists spelled and pronounced the word as Tuzigoot (TWO-zee-GOOT), which was nonsensical in Apache. Based on pottery styles they’ve concluded this settlement endured from 1000 to 1300’s-400 years, twice as long as the U.S. has existed. Besides farming, many minerals were mined in this area.

tuz 8 tuz 9

Then we drove on to Jerome – the city built on the sides of Cleopatra Hill. The road to and from that town (89A) is quite the mountain road-steep and twisty. The mountains in the distance are the San Francisco Mountains near Flagstaff. Lots of mining created the town. Now that those minerals have played out, tourism keeps it alive. Barely, it seems, like a town on the edge in more ways than one.

jerome 1 jerome 2 jerome 3

Then we found my favorite part of this town: Nelly Bly’s, a store filled with glass art, sand art and most of all, kaleidoscopes. As I was perusing all this beauty, John waited outside on a bench, only to be entertained by a surveying lady. Eventually I bought a small, wonderful kaleidoscope for myself. When I found John the lady was just leaving. He’d told her I wouldn’t buy anything. I let her know this was a very rare occasion! The last is an image on my kaleidoscope that I took with my phone camera.

jerome 4 jerome 5 jerome 6

Down the Mingus Mountain range to Prescott (PRES-kut) Valley: Costco and lunch. Kind locals at our lunch table told us that Trader Joe’s was just up the road (Hwy 69) to the first stop light, on the left. Yay! We found the chocolate and toured the store. This was our first time in one. I thought there’d be more bulk food, but this was a small store. Back to Costco for our groceries, then to Fry’s (on our way home via Hwy 69 and Hwy 169 to I-17. This is a faster, smoother ride than the one we took through the Mingus Mountains.

We were pretty tired when we got home, so John rested watching TV while I spent the time outside in the shade (hot today-over 80 degrees here). Then he grilled our supper. Even with that he’d used the microwave to cook his potato and the next thing you know, our A/C stopped. Sure enough, the system had used battery power to handle the load (A/C plus microwave went over 30 amps) until the draw was too much, then it dropped/stopped the A/C. Nice. Of course I turned off the A/C at that point. We turned on the fans then, for the rest of the evening.

It was so beautiful out, after supper, that I went for a nice walk while John preferred to relax with TV.

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in Arizona, National Parks (NPS) and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

