Moving on – to Bullhead City, AZ

5/13/15 Wednesday in Bullhead City, AZ (Ridgeview RV-ROD)

On our way by 8, so that felt good. Miss Journey did pretty well climbing I-17N, getting down to 42 mph at the slowest (on cruise, in 4th gear then). The nice part is that periodically the road would level out, so your rig would get a breather, so to speak. I-40 got pretty rough about 50 miles east of Kingman for 15 miles. Yuck. Reminded me of Louisiana’s freeways. Other than that and a dearth of rest areas, it was a smooth trip with no adventures.

We are truly in the desert, mountainous desert I’d say. Our descent into Bullhead City was 12 miles at a 6% grade with a signal light at the bottom! Needless to say, we were careful, keeping our speed around 50 mph until nearing the light which, thankfully, was green when we approached it. Only ½ mile later you’ll see white signs on the left indicating the RV Resort.

Ridgeview RV Resort (ROD) is very well kept, neat with full hookups and desert landscaping. They have a few trees but TV reception is great, as well as cell phone reception. They have strong power (50 amp costs $3/day + tax). Most sites are pretty level. We were given our site and that was fine because it worked well for us. It even faces almost directly east, so the sun didn’t come through our side windows much at all, nor the front windshield because it was after noon. They have a beautiful pool and hot tub area. It’s designed to look like the water under a red ship (the building above the pool).

Unfortunately the weather was not so great. Very windy (20+ mph winds), so we kept our slides in. Very hot, so we just left our windows open, that way we were pretty close to the temperature outside. We did not open our Fantastic Fans because of the gusting wind and they really weren’t necessary. Since we’d had a long day driving and it was not fun outside, we read, watched TV, napped until supper time. Then more of the same (except the nap) afterward. Since it was somewhat cooler, we also took our campground walk. Just before we started on that walk John spotted a Road Runner nearby, so we sort of followed it for awhile. The strangest thing is that the predicted low was 66 degrees! So we ran the A/C until it got us down to 71 degrees, then went to bed with the paddle fan in our bedroom turned on. More of the same predicted for tomorrow.

Do you see the little fly on the flower below?  This was in the Petrified Forest National Monument.

desert flowers 3a

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in Arizona. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

