Lake Havasu City and London Bridge

5/18/15 Monday in Bullhead City, AZ (Ridgeview RV-ROD)

Got through all our morning jobs then on our way by 9:20. It took over an hour to arrive, via Hwy 95. We go south in Arizona, pass over the Colorado River into California, then in a while, pass over it again into Arizona! Hwy 95 took us right to signs for London Bridge and Tourist Info. Where we were directed was actually the English Village, from which you can see the bridge and learn all about how it got here. Robert Paxton McCulloch (maker of boat motors and chain saws) wanted to attract visitors, but needed to get water flowing into Thompson Bay. To do that he would dig a canal from Lake Havasu into the Bay. Before doing that he needed a bridge. It just so happened that the London Bridge (built in 1831) was being replaced with a newer model, thus it was for sale. He bought it for over $2 million. Every granite block was numbered, then placed similarly here, at Lake Havasu City, 53,000 miles away. Originally, there were wooden bridges built to cross the Thames, then the first stone bridge, which had buildings built on it. Because of its design it was dangerous for boat traffic to try to cross under, then it started sinking. They took 30 years to build this one by 1831. In 1968 it was sold to McCulloch, now giving us the thrill of its beauty and history. It truly helped bring people to little Lake Havasu City.

bridge 1 bridge 2 bridge 3 history 1 history 2 history 3 history 4

 

Small adventure: when we asked this nice couple to take our photo, I took off my sunglasses so my eyes would be visible in the photo, putting them on my hat. Then John reminded me to take off my hat. As I did so he tried to warn me, but the glasses flew off, directly into the water in front of me, and sank. I can’t believe how hard that hit me. When would I ever find sunglasses just like those? After touring the little village awhile, we went to the Rotary Park to enjoy our picnic lunch. That’s where Google came to my rescue! Typing in Solar Shield sun glasses yielded that they were sold at Walmart. These glasses have UV protection and go over our glasses perfectly.

portrait 1 portrait 3

To drive on the London Bridge, go on Lake Havasu Ave, then turn on McCulloch Blvd onto the bridge. It’s far more interesting from below.

bridge top 1

We drove around the little island, created by Robert Paxton McCulloch, after crossing London Bridge. Not many water views. On our way out of Lake Havasu we stopped at Walmart, finding the exact match to my sunglasses, on sale for $15! So wonderful!

At home, as we were working on supper, quite the little storm came up heavy wind (30 mph), some gusts to 44 mph, then lots of rain. Didn’t know it had it in it-to rain here. Our smart phone weather apps never predicted this. We enjoyed Dancing With The Stars. Wow – all three finalists are great. Such a joy to watch.

 

 

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in Arizona and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

