Moving on – to Fillmore,UT

6/1/15 Monday in Fillmore,UT (Wagon’s West-EA/PPA/$23/night)

When I first got up I found my phone wouldn’t sense my swipe, thus it was locked. Thankfully John got the battery out and when he put it back in, all was good again. Whew. I wouldn’t have been able to answer phone calls even. I reminded myself that John had a phone and in the old days there would only be the phone sitting at home.

Since we couldn’t call Wagon’s West until 8, we sort of got ready as we went through our usual morning routine. Right at 8 am I called and we got in! Working in high gear, we got ready by 8:30, which happened to be when the office at St. George campground opened. That’s when we checked out and verified our refund. Yay!

Goodby Harrisburg-the old settlement our campground is located next to. The Mormons (Mr. Harris) settled here but were driven out by the flash floods eventually, as others were around St. George.

Harris

Our whole trip was on I-15 N. Did you know that that road has been a trade lane from Canada to Mexico? We didn’t. Once on the road we saw speed limit signs for 80 mph, in construction areas it was 65 mph, slowing once to 55 mph. We thought Las Vegas loved speed…. We climbed some and found green meadows surrounded by green treed hills. Later there were cattle and some horses in those meadows.

meadow 1

I love their signs: “That Seat Belt Looks Good On You” and “Climbing Lane Ahead”. Instead of the silhouette of the state on state highways, they use the silhouette of a beehive, their symbol of Utah-hard working, industrious. In St. George they have streets named “100 North”, “200 North”, “100 East” etc.  Their roads are very smooth.

This was the easiest travel day yet, all freeway. Our campground was simple and welcoming, an easy drive into a pre selected pull thru. Here we have full hook ups (50 amp), TV (they have open and treed areas) with nice wide grass strips alongside where our coach sits. High water pressure too, which is great when you have a water pressure regulator. Big plus: excellent cell phone service and free, decent WiFi.  Best of all, it’s cooler here, high around 85 degrees today. There are pygmy goats in a neighboring property, and a horse and foal in another neighboring property. It takes just as long to get to Bryce National Park from here (2+ hours) as it does from our last campground. So much more comfortable. We were set up and done with lunch by 1 pm.

Soon after new neighbors drove into the site next to us, we got to visiting. Barbara is a watercolor artist too, so we spent a couple hours sharing photos and ideas, then split for supper. They’re leaving tomorrow, so they needed rest time. Naturally we rested with TV.

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in Utah. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

