Bryce National Park

6/2/15 Tuesday in Fillmore,UT (Wagon’s West-EA/PPA/$23/night)

Off to I-15 by 6:30. We had about 14 miles on the scenic byway UT Hwy 12 before arriving at the Park at 8:40. Wow. What a fabulous introduction to Bryce.

12 1 12 2

We got to the gates by 8:40, then dashed onto the shuttle, taking it all the way to the end at Bryce Point, as recommended by the ranger at the ticket gate ($25/car or Senior Pass).

Bryce Point. The last image shows grottos, where the arch is formed by harder caprock which prevents it from collapsing.

bryce 1 bryce 2 bryce 3 bryce 4

Then we walked from Bryce Point to Inspiration Point, so I was taking way too many photos. This was so gorgeous with the colors and variety in rock formations (hoodoos). Some images are from our walk and at Inspiration Point. Some hoodoos looked like a piece of the Wall of China, some like soldiers, ready to march. The native Paiute Indians’ story is that in the early days their people could take on any form and at one point took the form of rocks by being tricked by a coyote (the trickster).

inspir 1 inspir 2 inspir 3 inspir 4 inspir 5 inspir 6

 

Sunset and Sunrise Point.  These were close together, so we walked this part of the Rim Trail, instead of taking the shuttle.

sunset 3

The Trail we plan to hike tomorrow

The Trail we plan to hike tomorrow

Window visible at left. Hard caprock helps preserve column of rock below it.

Window visible at left. Hard caprock helps preserve column of rock below it.

We took the shuttle to the Visitor Center where we enjoyed our picnic lunch and then saw the movie. When we left in the car to drive to Rainbow Point we spotted a couple Pronghorn Antelopes-the first I’ve seen in the wild! We also saw Stellar’s Jays and Violet-green swallows earlier flying about the rim. We even saw a Raven (that someone left almonds for) later on at one of our viewpoints.

visitor 1 visitor 2 visitor 3

Rainbow Point was the far end of a drive where you could pull your car over at various viewpoints.

Rainbow Point

Rainbow Point, surrounded by various plateaus.

Rainbow Point, surrounded by various plateaus.

Yovimpa Point

Yovimpa Point

Agua Canyon

agua

Natural Bridge

natural bridge 1

Swamp Canyon

swamp

Well, that was plenty for one day. Hwy 12 was even more gorgeous on our way out. We got home by 6 for chili and popcorn, then put our feet up for a night of relaxing.

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in National Parks (NPS), Utah and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bryce National Park

  1. Hi Trish, nice photos of your Bryce trip. We are leaving Ogden tomorrow taking a few days to get to Bryce, then heading back to Chandler, AZ by the 13th or 14th. Love your blog!
    Barbara and Jim (your neighbors at Wagons West in Fillmore)

    • Patricia Elser says:

      Thanks for your kind words. I often wonder if my blog is enjoyable or maybe too much like school! SO glad you commented because I hadn’t written down your name, so I couldn’t remember your last name to contact you in Facebook. Enjoy Bryce. It is so lovely and interesting. I still need to post our day there yesterday.

Leave a Reply

