Bryce National Park: Queen’s Garden and Navaho Loop Trails Combined

6/4/15 Thursday in Fillmore,UT (Wagon’s West-EA/PPA/$23/night)

Today we weren’t so early and left at 7:15 for Bryce. Once again we were struck by the beauty of the Red Rock Canyon on UT 12.

12 1

This time we wanted to go on a hike, so we chose their recommended hike of a combination of Queens Garden and Navajo Loop. The Queens Garden was listed as easy while the Navajo Loop was considered Moderate. This was a beautiful experience of the canyon from below. Both trails started going down steeply and rising at the end steeply. Queens Garden was all about the rocks while Navajo Loop was about the Bristlecone Pine forest below.

hike 1 hike 2 hike 3 hike 4

 

hike 5

The closest we got to a slot canyon.

The closest we got to a slot canyon.

hike 7

Bronze evening primrose

Bronze evening primrose

hike 9 hike 10 hike 11

Two truly natural bridges, the light one above, the dark one below.

Two truly natural bridges, the light one above, the dark one below.

 A look back on our steep climb up.

A look back on our steep climb up.

 

After that great 3 mile hike we drove to a couple more viewpoints.

Fairyland Point

fairy 1 fairy 2

More of the windows John loves so much.

More of the windows John loves so much.

Interestingly Mossy Cave and waterfall are on Hwy 12 East, outside of the National Park ticket gates. The Mormon pioneers dug a canal (Tropic Ditch) by hand in the late 1800’s from the Tropic Reservoir to the city of Tropic (seen from the rim of Bryce Canyon). This city couldn’t survive without that water. After following the canal awhile the trail split. We chose to visit the waterfall first then on to Mossy Cave, where natural spring water constantly seeps through the rock to create growing conditions for moss.

Mossy Cave

mossy 1 mossy 1a mossy 2 mossy 3

We were home by 3. I went to the cool grass outside our coach and read as John watched 2 hours of Emergency. We had our chili supper outside on our picnic table. Shock!!! John rarely will eat outside at our campground.

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in National Parks (NPS), Utah and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

