Moving on – to Glenn’s Ferry, ID

6/10/15 Wednesday in Glenn’s Ferry, ID (Three Island Crossing St Park-$39/night)

We went for a walk (John suggested it!) after I’d posted the blog. There is a wonderful smell to this place, almost like jasmine. The mountain was just gorgeous in the setting sun.

mountain 2

Long trip today (230 miles), so we were on the road around 7. No big cities to contend with, all freeway, so a good ride. A bit before we crossed into Idaho, I got a photo of an old cabin.  Those blurry spots are from bugs that smashed into our windshield.

ID Cabin

Greetings, Idaho

ID

After we were in Idaho we saw a sign “Deer Migration Crossing” and soon after we saw deer, thankfully they were not near the freeway. Pretty green, rolling hills in this area, with periodic groups of cattle and even horses, along with farming sections. One rest area was also the weigh station where both trucks and RV’s crossed the scales to reach the parking area. Efficient, I’d say. The inevitable construction spots broke up an otherwise smooth ride. We did have 3 small “adventures” when rolling over goodly bumps on the freeway: our heater fell off the sofa, our I-Pod came loose from its connection, so we lost our songs, and the shower light cover fell. The good news: nothing broke. We even got the I-Pod connection working when Miss Journey’s engine had been off, then turned on at a long rest area stop.

Because of our early departure we arrived at Three Island Crossing St. Park before noon, getting set up and lunch done before 1:00. Because of the heat we stayed inside, running both air conditioners. We only have 30 amps here (at least it’s strong) and no sewer at the site, so it took a good bit of timing to cook our leftover lasagna supper with the A/C off (they use close to 30 amps).

When the sun was close to setting, we took a walk to the Snake River. This is where the emigrants would cross the Snake River (on the Oregon Trail), but it was pretty dangerous. This image is a view of across the river, near where the wagons dropped down and crossed.

Three Island 1

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in Utah and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

