Moving on – to Cascade, ID, along the Payette River Scenic Byway

6/12/15 Friday in Cascade, ID (Water’s Edge RV Resort-EA/$15/night)

On the road by 8:00. I-84W to US 55N, a two lane mountain highway. At least it’s the Payette River Scenic Byway, so we had lovely views along the way, with plenty of passing lanes and turnouts. We saw a lot of RVs too. John noted that going North was mostly uphill, so going South would have been easier. Hey, they both have lots of tight curves, was my thought.

scenes 1

In time we were in deep forest (Boise National Forest) with the white water river flowing at our side. It reminded me of Stevens Pass; John of Blewett Pass. Ah, the West. Home. The last several miles were in a lovely FLAT valley. Sweet.

scenes 2 scenes 3

As we approached Water’s Edge we couldn’t see their sign, for all the construction. We knew we needed to turn right, just before the bridge. The construction seemed to be for the bridge, so I spotted a sign that said “Leisure Time RV Park”, directing us to turn right there. We saw rigs, so we turned, unhooked, then John went to find out where Water’s Edge was. It was this park (Leisure Time was further down the road). Later, after getting settled in we walked over to that construction area, looking for the sign. It was there alright, in deep shade, between trees and behind orange blocking forms and cones. I was supremely grateful to John for his excellent driving for such a long way (79 miles of mountain road) and realizing that the construction was at the bridge, that we needed to turn where we did.

This is a beautiful place, even kind of crowded, considering that everyone must travel US 55 to get here, whether from the north or the south. The guy that came in just behind us in the office said he cam from McCall (north) and it was quite an experience. He also had been here 17 years ago so know where to turn, but hadn’t seen the sign either. Anyway, if you’re okay with the path to get here, it’s a great campground: FHU, strong 50 amps, strong cell service, tall, mature trees (no TV, sorry John), the Payette River (no public access) as part of Water’s Edge with kayaks to ride. Plus your site has a concrete pad, picnic table and fire pit. Everything is well kept: clean bathrooms, new picnic tables, new electrical box. An added bonus is the temperature, 10 degrees less than Boise/Glenn’s Ferry (south) and Lewiston (north). So comfortable. We enjoyed a nice walk around the beach as well as the rest of the campground, then read outside. Just lovely.

We did get PBS on the local antenna, so we watched the Newshour, then some taped shows, then showers and bed. Oh, we both managed naps in the midst of everything else today as well.

Thank heavens we have Saturday to rest up, because we’ll have more miles to travel Sunday (184), with none on the freeway, many in the mountains.

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in Idaho and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Moving on – to Cascade, ID, along the Payette River Scenic Byway

  1. John Ellingson says:

    Trish, Jane and I are greatly enjoying your posts. Very educational. Reading them is almost as good as experiencing these places in person. The pictures that you are including are very helpful and interesting.
    John Ellingson

Leave a Reply

