Back In The Saddle Again

8/5/15 Wednesday in Leavenworth, WA (Leavenworth Resort-TT)

It was so good to be home. We were really busy getting ourselves checked out (our bodies are in fine shape-all systems go) and the car and coach spiffed up, including wash and wax. We even washed our vinyl sided house. This on top of enjoying/watching our 2 adorable grandchildren pretty much every day except for the week we went camping in Canada with our local FMCA chapter.

Kettle River

CN 2  Kettle River 1

RR Trestle over Kettle River

CN 2 RR Trestle

Cascade Gorge

CN 3 Cascade Gorge 1

 

We even managed lots of visiting with friends, relatives and co-workers. Whew! I’m ready to go camping for some rest. We delayed leaving Spokane to time our reunion with John’s family better.

This long blog break got me to thinking I might change from my daily posts. The purpose was to give a good idea of how daily life on the road is – not all vacation. But it’s a lot of reading for people involved in so much in their own lives. Weekly posts could give some of the same sense of daily life, with less verbiage. Plus I could post special places/experiences in addition.

Today was a 230 mile trip-not our favorite kind. About 2/3rds of the way is freeway. We left at 8:20, stopping to visit our Florida friends near the Crescent Bar Thousand Trails Resort. We arrived at 1:40. It took over an hour to find a spot (no sewer or TV, even local) buried in trees. Verizon cell phone service is weak, so our Internet is also limited. Hey, we’re really camping here, not just Rving as John likes to say. We walked to the lodge after supper to watch TV and play cards.

Some photos of our trip through Central Washington State-dry is normal in the summer, but this has been a particularly hot one with little snow pack from the past winter.

Central Washington: Wheat farms

WA 1 wheat farming

Central Washington: Fruit ranch on left, bluff on right.

WA 2 Fruit ranch on left

Rock Island Dam on Columbia River

WA 3 Rock Island on Columbia River

Leavenworth, where John grew up and much of his family now lives.

Leavenworth at foothills of the Cascade Mountains.

LVWTH 1

LVWTH 2

Our grandchildren Lily and Gabe. We said our goodbyes in Spokane yet we’ll soon say our hellos here Friday at Leavenworth Resort (TT campground).

grandkids 1

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in Washington. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

