Reunion Times

8/6/15 to 8/9/15 (Thur-Sun) in Leavenworth, WA (Leavenworth Resort-TT)

We were crazy busy visiting during this time so I didn’t have a chance to blog. Here’s a recap:

8/6 (Thur): John took “memory lane”, back roads filled with memories, on our way to Dryden, where his mom Dorothy and brother Don live. We visited them (plus Don’s sons Travis (grandson Kasein) and Skyler. How amazing Dorothy is. She’s almost 92 but looks as spry as she did 10, 20 years ago. Her doctor even said she’s getting younger instead of older! Sharon (John’s sister from Texas) was there as well, so we all had a grand time visiting.

Dorothy 1

Dorothy Elser

8/7 (Fri): John took the quicker, more scenic route through Tumwater Canyon. Straighter roads than the other through Chumstick, so easier on my neck. This time more people arrived in the afternoon: Jennifer/Phillip with new baby Evelyn (from Spokane) then soon after came Larry (brother)/Karen with their daughter Nancy and granddaughter Emily (from Seattle area). Justin (our son) let us know he would be at the Leavenworth campground (TT) around 6:30 pm, so we got there to meet him and his family. Luck was really with us because the campground was really full but one spot was available, right next to ours! While they set up camp we got dinner ready to share with them. It was spaghetti and corn on the cob, so was just right. We visited a while, then hit the sack.

8/8 (Sat): REUNION DAY More visiting with family until time for the big gathering next door to Dorothy/Don’s home, at Tom (cousin) and Sandee Elser’s home. Convenient, wouldn’t you say? Joe (our son) arrived from Spokane just in time. We were all visiting with the larger Elser family by 1 pm, until the rain struck around 3 or 4, then, after helping gather chairs and food for Tom/Sandee, we (the smaller Elser group) congregated at Don/Dorothy’s place. We all enjoyed a great leftover supper as we continued to visit until it was almost dark. All those not sleeping at Don’s headed for their own places, including us, Joe and Justin and his family. It was 9:30 and we were pretty tired, so we hit the sack then. Joe slept in our RV, our first guest.

reunion 1 reunion 2

ps:  my best chance to catch John in a photo with a smile-when he’s holding a baby.  In this case it’s Evelyn (James’ 1st granddaughter).

8/9 (Sun): We were so tired we all slept in. We shared our pancake breakfast with Joe. He thought John’s pancake sandwich (with chocolate chips in his egg) was pretty weird. We all (John/Trish, Joe, Justin/Jamie and kids) made it to Don’s by 12:30 to continue our visiting marathon. It got pretty hectic with all of Dorothy’s children (5) plus many of their children and grandchildren, but what fun. Lily, Gabe (Justin’s) and Kasein (Travis’), for the most part, had great fun playing as well. We enjoyed more leftovers (thanks Don!!). The young adults had a great time with a new sort of game “Ultimate Werewolf”. It’s not cards, but a sort of story you need to follow with your eyes closed most of the time. Then everyone tries to figure out what had happened to the cards (characters) while their eyes were closed yet they heard things like “Robber trades his card (character) with another card (character).” Challenging and great fun. Sadly, responsibilities beckoned many, so Joe and Larry (and family) had to leave around 4:30. We (John/Trish and Justin and family) took off soon after. After our dinners, with the kids settled in for their movie, we taught Justin and Jamie our favorite card game “13”.

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in Washington. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

