Sad Farewells on a HOT Travel Day

8/12/15 (Wednesday) in Leavenworth, WA (Leavenworth Resort-TT)

Up fairly early, getting our showers in the bathhouse because we don’t have sewer here. After breakfast John and I walked through the nearby sewered area, hoping to find a site we could move into for the next 4 days before we leave. Our gray tank would need to be dumped soon. As luck would have it, a gentleman was getting his rig ready to leave, noting that he would be leaving in about 10 minutes. We scooted back to our Journey, getting the slides in, jacks up and set to roll. I led the way in the car while John followed driving the coach. As I approached the site I saw 2 chairs parked in the center and a lady putting her “date” sign on the pedestal. Bummer. As I got out of the car I was radioing John what I saw, with a very disappointed voice. The lady heard and realizing we wanted this spot, suggested the one next to it. Unfortunately it angled down a lot in the front, too much for our coach to handle. She explained that they were just a couple sites down (in a sewered site) but wanted a better one. I explained that we were trying to get a sewered site after a week not at one. She generously (as she saw John approaching) suggested that we take the site we wanted, they’d take the one that angled down. I think she realized that they were actually reserving a site by putting their chairs there, something that’s against the rules in TT, while we’d arrived with our rig. Either way, we were SO grateful and hurried to get set up.

Justin was leaving this morning and had asked that we watch his kids while they got their rig ready. This move to a new site put us a bit late, but we soon gathered the children. They asked to see our new site. After a short visit we all walked to the minigolf and had great time. Just a we were finishing Justin let us know they were ready to leave. We exchanged good by hugs, but Lily didn’t want to, she didn’t want to leave us, knowing that we wouldn’t be back until next summer. We still got to hug her and they were off. When we returned to our new site and in the coach we saw the tomatoes that we’d been keeping for Jamie. John called her. Yes, would we please meet them at Midway Grocery. Thus we took off (at the swift pace of 5 mph in the campground), only to get behind a trailer as we were leaving the campground. Sheesh! Shortly before our meeting place John managed to pass that trailer, to arrive in about 15 minutes after our call.

Then we went on to Dryden, to visit a bit with Dorothy (and beg a leftover lunch), then we saw Tom/Sandee next door and got to watch the shows they’d taped for us. Next, we drove to Wenatchee to shop at Walmart (clip on sun glasses), Fred Meyer and Costco for groceries. Heavy smoke everywhere-the Chelan fire was getting blown our direction. Not so good. Plus it was 100 degrees in Wenatchee. Thank heavens it was (as usual) 10 degrees less at our campground. Got home by 6, struggling to get it cooled down with A/C and microwave some leftovers with only 30 amps. We managed fine by alternating both.

flowers 2

Yep, hot enough for a cactus to enjoy.

John dumped our gray tank, then filled it with water, then dropped some “Travel Jon Waste Digester” into it in hopes of getting the gunk cleaned off the indicators, so it wouldn’t always read 2/3rd full. It gets to sit all night. We read, then headed for bed.

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in Washington and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

