Moving on to Bend, OR

8/19/15 (Wednesday) in Bend, OR (Bend/Sunriver RV Campground-TT)

On the trail before 8 again, grateful that the dump site was clear, so we could dump and even get our “toad” hooked up right there. Already warm. The camp host told us it would be 100 degrees here today. Glad we’re leaving except, with the poor power that the TT campgrounds often experience, the 90 plus degrees in Bend may feel just as bad. That’s Rving-roughing it smoothly.

Essentially we took US 97 all the way south to Bend. Nice road in Oregon too-primarily 2 lane with good shoulders and some passing lanes/turn outs.

Near Shaniko we passed a sign that noted we were at the 45th parallel, halfway between the North Pole and the Equator. Is that why it’s so hot? It’s sort of like West Texas here in that there are fences, sagebrush and sprinklings of cattle and wheat/hay fields. No cactus or windmills or flat land though, it is rolling hills, like our Palouse near Spokane. US 97 is still a good road here in Oregon, with some construction here and there. Closer to Madras there was water to irrigate with, so green fields.

Bend is a high desert region, just like Spokane, so there are plenty of Ponderosa Pines that require little water along our road to the campground.

Arrived at 11, all set up by 12:30. Bend/Sunriver is a large campground with very few 50 amp sites and no sewer sites plus it’s very wooded, so it took awhile to find “our” spot: I-41. We have 30 amps, but the weather should not be too bad after this day (in the 90’s today). Best of all we have TV reception and good Verizon cell phone reception. This site does look on to the dump site, but we’re okay with that. Interesting to say the least.

The power seems to be holding pretty well too.  Best of all we have TV reception and good Verizon cell phone reception. This site does look on to the dump site, but we’re okay with that.  They have a cute Western town just behind the Welcome Center.  The staff is great with plenty of activities for all.  I’m really looking forward to the Hot Tub Socials on Sundays, with free snacks.  Oh, everyone is traveling at 5 mph (except one boy on a bike).  Maybe it’s because everyone else is, maybe it’s because of the invisible speed bumps in the roads or just maybe it’s because of the rules page you had to read and sign when you checked in!  It’s not as dusty as Leavenworth TT was (more gravel).

Love this sign in the bathroom:

BA

After lunch we drove to Bend (17 miles away) for groceries. My goodness our larder is stuffed. I keep thinking we shouldn’t need to shop again except for milk and eggs but somehow that hasn’t happened yet. We saw a vegetable we’d never seen before. It’s beautiful, maybe a cross between cauliflower and broccoli, which were presented on both sides of it: Romanesco Broccoli

Romanov

Once we got back home we relaxed. When it got cool we walked around the campground. It seems to have changed a lot in the 15 years since we were last here in our tent trailer, far more trees and brush than we remember.

About Patricia Elser

I've always loved the loose, flowing, transparent look of watercolors, of Chinese paintings and their calligraphy, but alas, no watercolor classes were available when I was in school, so that interest remained buried until my children were grown. Even then, I was afraid that I couldn't really paint, so upon my sister's advice, I actually started to take classes. I signed up for every class available, determined to learn no matter how afraid I was. I came upon a teacher, Stan Miller, who inspired me, who opened the door to success in watercolor. I love to look at beautiful images. I want to capture them forever. All my life, photography was how I gathered images of the beauty I saw. Thanks to all that photography, I enjoy composing pictures, especially up close. Watercolors allow me to add more of me in their translation of that beauty. My paintings reflect my love for music and dance, with their rhythm and flow. I am fascinated by the play of light, so it appears in my pictures as drama for they are filled with darks and lights. Maybe it's the challenge, maybe it's the beauty, but now, when a work comes together, it fills my soul.
This entry was posted in Oregon and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Moving on to Bend, OR

  1. Justin says:

    I think you meant the 45th parallel, the 49th is the US-Canada border. Interesting fact about cauliflower, broccoli, and romanesco, they are all the same species of plant called Brassica oleracea. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Brassica_oleracea

    • Patricia Elser says:

      Thanks for your tip on the 45th parallel. The sign went by fast, so I probably “assumed” which parallel. I also forgot you’re getting to be quite an expert with plants! Thanks for that tip as well.

Leave a Reply

